How to watch FIFA awards

World News

The Best FIFA Football Awards ceremony is set to take place this evening. Here's how you can watch it, and everything else you need to know ahead of the showpiece event.

FIFA's annual awards ceremony will take place on Thursday evening when the world's best players and coaches, along with a host of other award categories, are set to be recognised by world football's governing body.

As a result of the coronavirus pandemic, this year's ceremony will take place online instead of in the form of the customary gala event, and will be broadcast from FIFA's headquarters in Zurich, Switzerland. The event will be hosted by Reshmin Chowdhury and former Netherlands international Ruud Gullit.

When does the broadcast start and how can you watch?

The ceremony is set to start at 20:00 (South African time), and FIFA will broadcast the event live across its various media channels. This includes streams on the official FIFATV YouTube channel, the FIFA website, and the awards' dedicated Facebook page.

What are the awards and who are the nominees?

The Best FIFA Men's Player

  • Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal / Juventus)
  • Robert Lewandowski (Poland / Bayern Munich)
  • Lionel Messi (Argentina / Barcelona)

READ: Lewandowski crowned FIFA Player of the Year

The Best FIFA Women's Player

  • Lucy Bronze (England / Olympique Lyonnais / Manchester City) [WINNER]
  • Pernille Harder (Denmark / Wolfsburg / Chelsea)
  • Wendie Renard (France / Olympique Lyonnais)

The Best FIFA Men's Goalkeeper

  • Alisson Becker (Brazil / Liverpool)
  • Manuel Neuer (Germany / Bayern Munich) [WINNER]
  • Jan Oblak (Slovenia / Atletico Madrid)

The Best FIFA Women's Goalkeeper

  • Sarah Bouhaddi (France / Olympique Lyonnais) [WINNER]
  • Christiane Endler (Chile / Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Alyssa Naeher (USA / Chicago Red Stars)

READ: Messi & Ronaldo's FIFA nomination questioned

The Best FIFA Men's Coach

  • Marcelo Bielsa (Argentina / Leeds United)
  • Hans-Dieter Flick (Germany / Bayern Munich)
  • Jurgen Klopp (Germany / Liverpool) [WINNER]

The Best FIFA Women's Coach

  • Emma Hayes (England / Chelsea)
  • Jean-Luc Vasseur (France / Olympique Lyonnais)
  • Sarina Wiegman (Netherlands / Netherlands national team) [WINNER]

FIFA Puskas Award

  • Giorgian De Arrascaeta (Ceara vs Flamengo - 25 August 2019)
  • Heung-min Son (Tottenham Hotspur vs Burnley - 7 December 2019) [WINNER]
  • Luis Suarez (Barcelona vs Real Mallorca - 7 December 2019)

The winners of the 2020 FIFA Fair Play Award and 2020 FIFA Fan Award will also be announced on Thursday evening.

UCL Round of 16 draw confirmed

Messi, CR7's FIFA nomination questioned

Fifa announce final award nominees