2020 FIFA POTY nominees announced

World News

The nominees for The Best FIFA Men's Player 2020 award have been announced, with Robert Lewandowski set to do battle with the likes of Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi.

On Wednesday, FIFA released the list of nominees for this year's The Best FIFA Men's Player award, with the winner to be announced at the awards ceremony on 17 December 2020.

Scroll through the gallery above to see the nominees for The Best FIFA Men's Player 2020 award

Bayern Munich star Lewandowski headlines this year's nominee pool after his record-breaking performances inspired the German against to a UEFA Champions League, Bundesliga and German Cup treble. 

READ: CR7, Messi up for Player of the Century

The Poland international features alongside regular faces Ronaldo and Messi, while Liverpool's African duo of Mohamed Salah and Sadio Mane also feature among this year's nominees.

"The winners of The Best FIFA Men's Player will be selected by an international jury comprising the current coaches of all men's national teams, the current captains of all men's national teams, one specialist journalist from each territory represented by a national team, and fans from all over the world registered on FIFA.com," FIFA said in a statement.

"Each of the four groups of voters within the jury has the same electoral weight irrespective of the actual number of voters in those groups.

READ: Kekana nominated for Puskas Award

"Each member of the jury will be requested to nominate, in decreasing order of merit, the three players whom, in accordance with the criteria set out in articles 2 and 3 above, they consider most deserving of the respective award.

"The three players nominated by each jury member will receive five points, three points or one point respectively and the award is bestowed upon the player who receives the most scoring points."

City to offer Messi 10-year deal?

Ronaldo equals Messi UCL record

Rooney: CR7 not the best I played with