Dutch hand Germany first loss

World News

Germany suffered their first defeat in the 2020 European Championship qualifiers following a 4-2 loss to the Netherlands on Friday night.

Timo Werner spearheaded the German’s attack with Lukas Klostermann returning at the back, whilst Matthijs De Ligt and Virgil Van Dijk formed the Netherlands central defence.

Germany drew first blood on nine minutes after a long pass caught the Dutch square at the back, allowing Serge Gnabry to fire home after Thomas Mueller saw his initial shot parried.

The pace of the match dropped towards halftime as the visitors struggled to open-up the four-time World Cup winners.

Werner nearly added a second in the half’s final four minutes after getting goal-side from a long ball, but Jasper Cillessen’s one-hand stretch put the forward at bay.

Georginio Wijnaldum went close to drawing the Dutch level ten minutes into the second half, but the Liverpool man couldn’t get the better of Manuel Neuer.

Eventually, the Netherlands were all square four minutes later when Frenkie de Jong beat Nico Schulz to possession to slot beyond the on-rushing Neuer.

The turnaround was completed within six minutes after a cross from the left by Memphis Depay met Jonathan Tah, who deflected the cross into his own net.

Germany clawed their way back on 72 minutes after De Ligt gave away a penalty following a handball in the area, allowing Toni Kroos to send Jasper Cillessen the wrong way.

The tie turned again seven minutes later as substitute Donyell Malen connected with Wijnaldum’s flick from the left to side-foot into the top corner. As a result, Die Mannschaft went for broke in the final seven minutes, as Julian Brandt replaced Matthias Ginter in all offensive move.

The strategy backfired as the Dutch turned defence to attack in added time through Depay who set-up Wijnaldum to finish past Neuer to complete a memorable come back in Hamburg.

Other results:

Estonia 1-2 Belarus
Cyprus 1-1 Kazakhstan
Wales 2-1 Azerbaijan
Slovakia 0-4 Croatia
Slovenia 2-0 Poland
Austria 6-0 Latvia
Scotland 1-2 Russia
San Marino 0-4 Belgium