Ballon d'Or Dream Team announced

World News

The likes of Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi have been named alongside Pele and Diego Maradona in the newly-crowned Ballon d'Or Dream Team.

With the 2020 Ballon d'Or ceremony having been cancelled as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic, award hosts France Football have instead announced the Ballon d'Or Dream Team, which seeks to honour the greatest team of all time as elected by a panel of 140 journalists.

Scroll through the gallery above to see the Ballon d'Or Dream Team

The selection, which takes shape in a 3-4-3 formation, was made public on Monday evening and includes former Soviet Union goalkeeper Lev Yashin, who takes his place ahead of a defence that comprises Cafu, Franz Beckenbauer and Paolo Maldini.

In midfield, FC Barcelona and Spain legend Xavi Hernandez stars in a deeper role alongside Germany great Lothar Matthaus, with the legendary figures of Pele and Diego Maradona ahead of them as the side's two attacking midfielders. 

The Dream Team is rounded off with the incredible attacking triumvirate of Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo and Ronaldo Nazario the former two of which are the only active players to have been selected who, between them, boast 13 individual Ballons d'Or.


Looking for a new ride? Use the Quick Check below and see if you qualify!

CR7 beats Messi to impressive record

UCL Round of 16 draw confirmed

Zungu & Rangers learn UEL fate