Real, Barca & Juve facing UCL ban?

UEFA Champions League

UEFA have opened investigatory proceedings against Real Madrid, FC Barcelona and Juventus regarding the clubs' involvement in the breakaway European Super League.

Real, Barca and Juve are the only three of the Super League's 12 original founding clubs who have not yet withdrawn their affiliation from the controversial competition.

The other nine teams, including all six Premier League sides that had signed up to the Super League, have formally reiterated their commitment to European football's governing body UEFA, who are now taking the fight to the remaining rebels.

On Wednesday, the body announced that it had opened proceedings for the three clubs to be investigated for violating UEFA's "legal framework" by persisting with plans to proceed with the new tournament.

"In accordance with Article 31 (4) of the UEFA Disciplinary Regulations, UEFA Ethics and Disciplinary Inspectors have today been appointed to conduct a disciplinary investigation regarding a potential violation of UEFA's legal framework by Real Madrid CF, FC Barcelona and Juventus FC in connection with the so-called 'Super League' project," a statement from UEFA read.

According to The New York Times, the entire process could potentially take more than a month to be completed and may result in Real, Barca and Juve all being banned from the UEFA Champions League for up to two seasons.

It is further claimed that the three clubs will proceed with a counter-action based on an assertion that UEFA "operates an unfair monopoly that denies [the clubs] natural rights to operate freely".

Scroll through the gallery below to see the world's 10 most valuable clubs, according to Forbes

Neymar: I want to play with CR7

'Man Utd should be docked six points'

Five stars who could miss out on UCL