UCL squad of the season announced

In an 18-man squad selected by UEFA Technical Observers in Kyiv, which included former Manchester United manager David Moyes, Real Madrid dominated the squad with a total of eight players.

However, the omission of Mane specifically raises a few eyebrows, as the Senegal star netted 10 goals in his first 11 games in the competition, only equalled by teammate Roberto Firmino and former Brazil striker Adriano.

For Real, Keylor Navas, Sergio Ramos, Raphaël Varane, Marcelo, Toni Kroos, Luka Modric Casemiro and Cristiano Ronaldo all made the cut - while runners-up in the competition, Liverpool had Virgil van Dijk, Mohamed Salah and Firmino.

Bayern Munich had two of their stars included right-back Joshua Kimmich and playmaker James Rodriguez, while AS Roma's goalkeeper Allison Becker and striker Edin Dzeko also made the cut.

Overall UCL Team of the Year Squad:

Goalkeepers: Keylor Navas (Real Madrid), Alisson Becker (Roma)

Defenders: Joshua Kimmich (Bayern München), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Marcelo (Real Madrid), Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus), Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool), Raphaël Varane (Real Madrid)

Midfielders: Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City), Casemiro (Real Madrid), Luka Modrić (Real Madrid), Toni Kroos (Real Madrid), James Rodríguez (Bayern München)

Forwards: Edin Džeko (Roma), Roberto Firmino (Liverpool), Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid), Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)