Chelsea crowned champs of Europe

UEFA Champions League

Chelsea have been crowned UEFA Champions League winners for a second time with a 1-0 win Manchester City in the final on Saturday night.

Ilkay Gundogan and Bernardo Silva started in midfielder as both Fernandinho and Rodrigo started on the City bench, while two alterations also showed from the Blues with N’Golo Kante and Kai Havertz coming back into the side.

The Blues got off the liveliest following the first 12 minutes with a first-time strike from close-range by Timo Werner but goalkeeper Ederson Moraes saved.

Werner was in again barely a second later when he worked an angle from far wide of the area before going into the side-netting with a low strike.

The Blues were thrown a curveball seven minutes to halftime after Andreas Christensen came on to replace Thiago Silva, who couldn’t carry on playing due to a knock.

That didn’t seem to be of concern as on 42 minutes Havertz rounded Ederson from a pass into space by Mason Mount before going on to find the back of an empty net.

Click through the gallery below to see the highest-paid players at Chelsea:

No substitutions from any side showed following the commencement of the second half, as Kevin De Bruyne targeted a response for City with a floating free-kick but sailed over.

De Bruyne had to then vacate towards the 60th minute following a heavy collision with Antonio Rudiger, which saw the arrival of Gabriel Jesus.

Chelsea should’ve secured a second goal inside the last 20 minutes through a strike from inside the area by Christian Pulisic, who dragged wide of the bottom-corner.

The Citizens threw on their record goal-scorer Sergio Aguero in the last 12 minutes in trying to stage a turnaround with Raheem Sterling removed.

That did unfortunately not take place as the Blues held on tight to reclaim their second Champions League trophy while Guardiola suffers his first European final loss.

Pep confirms long-term future

Barca update on Messi's contract

Report: CR7 makes decision on Juve