El Clasico dates confirmed

The dates for the mouthwatering league El Clasicos between FC Barcelona and Real Madrid have been confirmed after LaLiga announced the fixtures for the 2019/20 season.

The opening matches of the new season will be played on Sunday, 18 August 2019, with the campaign concluding on Sunday, 24 May 2020.

Defending league champions Barcelona start their campaign away at Athletic Bilbao, while Zinedine Zidane's Real Madrid are away at Celta Vigo.

Read: Furman on Bafana's Afcon exit

Atletico Madrid, who finished the 2018/19 LaLiga season in second spot, will host Getafe at the Wanda Metropolitano Stadium, while Espanyol and Sevilla go head to head in a mouthwatering encounter at the RCDE Stadium.

Here is the complete set of fixtures for Matchday 1 (Sunday, 18 August 2019 all 17:00 kick-offs)

Alaves vs Levante

Athletic Bilbao vs Barcelona

Atletico Madrid vs Getafe

Celta Vigo vs Real Madrid

Espanyol vs Sevilla

Leganes vs Osasuna

Real Betis vs Real Valladolid

Real Mallorca vs Eibar

Valencia vs Real Sociedad

Villarreal vs Granada

The Blaugrana clinched the league El Clasico bragging rights last season, winning the two derby encounters by scorelines of 5-1 and 1-0.

Barca and Real will renew their rivalries at the Camp Nou on 27 October, before doing duty in the return clash at the Santiago Bernabeu on 1 March.

The first Madrid derby between Real and Atletico will take place on 29 September at the Wanda Metropolitano, with the reverse fixture set for 2 February.

The rivalry between Atleti and Barca will begin on 1 December at the Rojiblancos' home ground, before the two sides lock horns at the Camp Nou on 26 April.