With Manchester United's Cristiano Ronaldo at the centre of two controversial penalty incidents against West Ham United, the Premier League's referees body has now reportedly stated that wrong calls were made in the match.
Despite Ole Gunnar Solskjaer's side defeating the Hammers 2-1 on Sunday, partly thanks to goalkeeper David de Gea's stoppage-time penalty-saving heroics, the Norwegian manager did not hold back in a post-match press conference as he lambasted the failure to award his team two penalties in the fixture.
"It's two clear penalties. I think they're stonewall. You can't even argue against them," the 48-year-old said, per Sky Sports.
It appears that the United boss' frustrations have been justified following an EPL referees meeting led by Mike Riley, the chief of the Professional Game Match Officials Limited (PGMOL), which is the organisation responsible for all top-flight match officials in England, on Monday.
According to The Times, those present were made aware that a penalty would have been the correct call for Vladimír Coufal's foul on the Portuguese forward.
In an aim to improve their performance, the officials were informed that the video assistant referee should have instructed referee Martin Atkinson to review the incident on the pitchside monitor because there was "knee-on-knee contact" between the two players.
They also spoke about how the London club's stoppage-time non-penalty should have been their second spot-kick of the match, with referees being told that Red Devils defender Aaron Wan-Bissaka had fouled Hammers midfielder Tomas Soucek – in this instance, Atkinson had actually awarded United a free-kick.
The match officials were reportedly also told that the correct decision had been made for Kurt Zouma's tackle on Ronaldo in the box, for which no penalty was given.
Here are some images of Ronaldo in action against the Hammers
Dermot Gallagher, a former referee who is the spokesman for the PGMOL, seemingly agreed with the outcome of the meeting.
"I was surprised [a penalty for Ronaldo] wasn't given. I think it's an easier decision to make to give a penalty," Gallagher told Sky Sports.
"[Coufal] dangled a leg, they adjudged he tried to take it away, but he'd already gone too far into the challenge, for me."
Regarding West Ham's claim, he said: "The feeling on the field was that Soucek made the foul, but I think the defender takes the forward out and it's a foul. He doesn't realise he's there, but he's caught him."