LMA Manager of the Year announced

English Premier League

On Monday afternoon, Liverpool manager Jurgen Klopp was named the League Managers Association's Manager of the Year after guiding the Reds to the league title for the first time in 30 years.

The trophy, which is separate from the Premier League's Manager of the Season award, is an annual accolade that is bestowed on a manager from any of the top four divisions in the nation for his achievements throughout the season, and is voted for by fellow professional managers from across the football pyramid.

Scroll through the gallery above to see the past five winners of the LMA Manager of the Year award

"I'm absolutely delighted to be named the winner of the LMA Manager of the Year Award for this wonderful Sir Alex Ferguson Trophy, named after a man that I admire so much. It feels extra special to win this award because it is voted for by my fellow managers," Klopp told the LMA.

READ: Liverpool confirm fourth departure

"It's an honour to be in the company of so many managers who have been named as LMA Manager of the Year before, including, of course, Liverpool managers like Bill Shankly, Bob Paisley, Joe Fagan, Sir Kenny Dalglish and, in recent years, Brendan Rodgers.

"Everything we have accomplished at Liverpool this year couldn't have been done without the superb input of my coaching staff; they make us a really special bunch of football brains. I love to work with my coaches, my players and everyone at LFC and, of course, I am thankful for the support from all our wonderful Liverpool fans."

READ: Mane equals Ronaldo goal record

Klopp's latest achievement comes less than a year after he and Manchester City boss Pep Guardiola were both inducted into the LMA Hall of Fame.

CR7 falls behind in Golden Shoe race

De Bruyne equals Henry assists record

SA starlet off the mark in Europe