Liverpool extend award-winning record

English Premier League

Following captain Jordan Henderson's crowning as the 2019/20 FWA Footballer of the Year, Liverpool have extended yet another record over their Premier League rivals.

On Friday morning, after guiding the Reds to a first Premier League title in 30 years, Henderson was named as the Football Writers' Association's Footballer of the Year.

Scroll through the gallery above to see the previous Liverpool players who have won the FWA Footballer of the Year award

Upon winning the prize, the 30-year-old England international became the 12th player (14 awards in total) from Liverpool to have won the trophy, extending the club's record over any other side by at least five. 

Manchester United and Tottenham Hotspur are the Reds' nearest rivals in this regard, and share second place with nine victories each.

READ: Henderson beats KDB to Footballer of the Year award

Ian Callaghan was the first Liverpool player to claim the coveted honour after his performances in the 1973/74 season, while the likes of Steven Gerrard, Luis Suarez and Mohamed Salah are more recent recipients of the accolade.

Barcelona transfer-list 12 players

Mokotjo lands major honour in Holland

FWA Footballer of the Year announced