Pitso, Downs in line for CAF awards

CAF Champions League

Meanwhile, Mosimane has been nominated for Coach of the Year after guiding The Brazilians to an Absa Premiership and CAF Champions League double in 2016, with the club itself nominated for Club of the Year honours.

Van Wyk has been named amongst the five nominess for CAF Women's Player of the year, while Banyana Banyana, who finished fourth at the recent Africa Women's Cup of Nations, have also been nominated for the Women's National Team of the Year.

The nominations come following the announcement of the final nominees for the CAF Player of the Year and CAF Player of the Year (Based in Africa) awards last month.

Sundowns quartet Khama Billiat, Keagan Dolly, Denis Onyango and Hlompho Kekana are all in the running for the African-based Player of the Year award. The awards gala will take place in Abuja, Nigeria on Thursday, 5 January.

Get the latest Sundowns news sent to your phone. SMSs cost R1.50.

Full list of categories and nominations:

Women’s Player of the Year 

Asisat OSHOALA (Nigeria & Arsenal Ladies)

Elizabeth Addo (Ghana & Kvarnsvedensik)

Gabrielle ABOUDI ONGUENE (Cameroon & Rossiyanka)

Janine VAN WYK (South Africa & JVW)

Raissa FEUDJIO TCHUANYO (Cameroon & Aland United)


Most promising Talent 

Elia MESCHAK (DR Congo & TP Mazembe)

Kelechi IHEANACHO (Nigeria & Manchester City)

Naby KEITA (Guinea & RB Leipzig)

Oghenekaro ETEBO (Nigeria & CD Feirense)

Ramadan SOBHI (Egypt & Stoke City)


Youth Player of the Year 

Alex IWOBI (Nigeria & Arsenal)

Eric AYIAH (Ghana U-17)

Franck KESSIE (Cote d’Ivoire & Atalanta)

Sandra OWUSU-ANSAH (Ghana & Supreme Ladies)

Sidiki MAIGA (Mali U-20)


Coach of the Year 

Florent IBENGE (DR Congo)

Milutin ‘Micho’ SREDOJEVIC (Uganda)

Pitso MOSIMANE (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Nacer SANDJAK (MO Bejaia)

Florence OMAGBEMI (Nigeria women’s national team)


Referee of the Year

Papa Gasama, Gambia

Grishea Gehead, Egypt 

Malang Diedhiou, Senegal


Club of the Year

Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)

MO Bejaia (Algeria)

TP Mazembe (DR Congo)

Zamalek (Egypt)

Zesco United (Zambia)


National Team of the Year

DR Congo

Guinea Bissau

Nigeria U-23




Women’s National Team of the Year




South Africa