Bayern crowned Bundesliga champs

Bundesliga News

Bayern Munich were crowned Bundesliga champions on the final day of the 2018/2019 season following a 5-1 thrashing of Eintracht Frankfurt.

Bayern Munich 5-1 Eintracht Frankfurt

Bayern Munich secured the Bundesliga title in emphatic fashion with a 5-1 victory over Eintracht Frankfurt at Allianz Stadium on Saturday.

Kingsley Coman gave the hosts the lead but Sebastien Haller equalized in the 50th minute. However, this sparked the Bavarians in to action with David Alaba, Renato Sanches, Franck Ribery and Arjen Robben netting to complete the rout.

Meanwhile, Europa League semi-finalists Frankfurt finished in seventh position.

Borussia Monchengladbach 0-2 Borussia Dortmund

Borussia Monchengladbach missed out on fourth spot after suffering a 2-0 defeat at the hands of runners-up Dortmund at Borussia-Park on Saturday.

Attacking duo Jadon Sancho and Marco Reus netted for Lucien Favre's side, who finished the season just two points behind Bayern.

Hertha Berlin 1-5 Bayer Leverkusen

Bayer Leverkusen secured fourth spot and a chance of Champions League football with a 5-1 win over 11th-placed Hertha Berlin at Olympiastadion Berlin on Saturday.

Kai Havertz broke the deadlock for the visitors in the 28th minute before Valentino Lazaro levelled matters. But a Julian Brandt strike and a stunning Lucas Alario hat-trick saw Leverkusen run out comprehensive winners.

Fortuna Dusseldorf 2-1 Hannover

10th-placed Fortuna Dusseldorf claimed a 2-1 victory over relegated Hannover 96 at Esprit Arena on Saturday.

Rouwen Hennings and Kenan Kamaran (scored in the space of four minutes to give the hosts a cushion before Nicolai Muller scored a consolation goal for Hannover.

SC Freiburg 5-1 Nurnberg

SC Freiburg ended the season in 13th position with a 5-1 drubbing of already-relegated Nurnberg at Dreisamstadion on Saturday.

Marco Terrazzino, Luca Waldschmidt, a brace from Nils Petersen and Vincenzo Grifo found the back of the net for the hosts before Eduard Lowen pulled a consolation goal back in the 69th minute.

Mainz 4-2 Hoffenheim

Mainz beat ten-man Hoffenheim 4-2 in a six-goal thriller at Coface Arena on Saturday.

Ishak Belfodil and Andrej Kramaric put the visitors in front before Christoph Baumgartner got himself sent off in the 41st minute. From then on, Mainz scored four unanswered goals through Daniel Brosinski, Jean-Phillipe Mateta and a double from Jean-Paul Boetius.

Werder Bremen 2-1 RB Leipzig

Werder Bremen pipped Hoffenheim to eighth spot with a 2-1 victory over third-placed RB Leipzig at Weserstadion on Saturday.

Milot Rashica opened the scoring for the hosts from the penalty spot in the 35th minute. Nordi Mukiele equalized in the 86th minute, but veteran striker Claudio Pizarro netted a dramatic winner in the 88th minute.

Schalke 04 0-0 VfB Stuttgart

Schalke 04 and VfB Stuttgart played to a 0-0 draw at Veltins-Arena on Saturday.

Schalke finish in 14th, while VfB Stuttgart will fight their Bundesliga future in the relegation playoffs after ending in 16th.

Wolfsburg 8-1 Augsburg

Having secured safety last week, Augsburg were already on holiday as they fell to an 8-1 defeat to sixth-placed Wolfsburg at Volkswagen Arena on Saturday.

Wout Weghorst netted a hat-trick, while Robin Knoche Daniel Ginczek , Elvis Rexhbecaj, Josip Brekalo and an Kevin Danso own goal guided to the hosts to an emphatic win, while Julian Schieber scored for Augsburg.