Bafana AFCON qualifying group finalised


South Africa's 2021 Africa Cup of Nations Group C qualifying group has been finalised with Sao Tome e Principe earning a historic victory over Mauritius.
The minnows, currently ranked 190th in the world proved their 3-1 victory in the first-leg was no fluke as they beat Les Dodos 2-1 at the Estádio Nacional 12 de Julho - their national stadium that holds 6500 spectactors.
It marked a momentous sporting acheivement for the nation with a population of just over 200 000 with the 5-2 aggeregate scoreline, as they now join Bafana Bafana, Sudan and Ghana in the group stage.
In the other three ties played out, Chad, South Sudan and The Gambia also advanced from the preliminary round after wins over Liberia, Seychelles and Djibouti respectively.
Road to Cameroon Groups in full:
Group A: Mali, Guinea, Namibia, Chad.
Group B: Burkina Faso, Uganda, Malawi, South Sudan
Group C: Ghana, South Africa, Sudan, Sao Tome
Group D: DR Congo, Gabon, Angola, The Gambia
Group E: Morocco, Mauritania, Central African Republic, Burundi
Group F: Cameroon (Q), Cape Verde, Mozambique, Rwanda
Group G: Egypt, Kenya, Togo, Comoros
Group H: Algeria, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Botswana
Group I: Senegal, Congo, Guinea-Bissau, eSwatini
Group J: Tunisia, Libya, Tanzania, Equatorial Guinea
Group K: Ivory Coast, Niger, Madagascar, Ethiopia
Group L: Nigeria, Benin, Sierra Leone, Lesotho
The first two rounds of group matches will be played during the international window in November.