Zim announce final AFCON squad


Zimbabwe have announced their final 23-man squad for the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations in Egypt with a total representation of 13 Absa Premiership players.
Four players from the COSAFA squad will join the rest of the AFCON team after the completion of the regional cup competition in which Rahman Gumbo and Lloyd Mutasa have been in charge of.
Scroll through the gallery above to see the 13 Absa Premiership players called up for Zimbabwe
Head coach Sunday Chidzambwa has kept faith in most of the players who won him qualification to Egypt 2019 with the Baroka goalkeeper Elvis Chipezeze, midfielder Tanzanian-based Thabani Kamusoko and former Mamelodi Sundowns striker Nyasha Mushekwi - the only new additions.
The core of the squad, Knowledge Musona, Khama Billiat, Marvelous Nakamba, Tendai Darikwa, Alec Mudimu, George Chigova and Evans Rusike retain their places as the Warriors read themselves for Group A against Egypt, Democratic Republic of Congo and Uganda.
Rodwell Chinyengetere (Baroka), Admiral Muskwe (Leicester City), Walter Musona (Polokwane City), Tafadzwa Rusike (Zanaco) are amonsgt the 11 players who have been snubbed for the final squad.
Zimbabwe 23-man squad in full, as confirmed by ZIFA:
Goalkeepers: George Chigova (Polokwane City), Edmore Sibanda (Witbank Spurs), Elvis Chipezeze (Baroka)
Defenders: Jimmy Dzingai (Power Dynamos), Alec Mudimu (CEFN Druids), Teenage Hadebe (Kaizer Chiefs), Divine Lunga (Golden Arrows), Ronald Pfumbidzai (Bloemfontein Celtic), Tendai Darikwa (Nottingham Forest)
Midfielders: Danny Phiri (Golden Arrows), Marshall Munetsi (Orlando Pirates), Marvelous Nakamba (Club Brugge), Tafadzwa Kutinyu (Azam), Ovidy Karuru (AmaZulu), Khama Billiat (Kaizer Chiefs), Kudakwashe Mahachi (Orlando Pirates), Talent Chawapihwa (AmaZulu), Thabani Kamusoko (Young Africans).
Forwards: Knowledge Musona (Anderlecht), Nyasha Mushekwi (Dalian Yifang), Evans Rusike (SuperSport United), Tinotenda Kadewere (Le Havre), Knox Mutizwa (Golden Arrows).