Onyango to miss AFCON with Kenya

Kenya have announced their final 23-man squad for AFCON 2019 with Maritzburg United defender Brian Onyango missing out through injury.

Four players have been axed from the provisional  27-man squad named by manager Sebastian Migne among them Sweden-based winger Christopher Mbamba, Anthony Akumu, former Golden Arrows winger Clifton Miheso and Onyango.

The towering defender who's based in South Africa is said to have picked up a long-term knee injury in their morning training session on Tuesday and has subsequently been ruled out.

Tottenham Hotspur midfielder Victor Wanyama will lead the side after an excellent season with the Premier League side, in which they reached the UEFA Champions League final.

The Harambee Stars still have one friendly match against DR Congo this Saturday - before they open their tournament in Egypt against Algeria on June 23.
Kenya AFCON qquad in full:
Goalkeepers: Patrick Matasi, John Oyemba, Faruk Shikalo
Defenders: Philemon Otieno, Abud Omar, Bernard Ochieng, Musa Mohammed, Joash Onyango, Joseph Okumu, David Owino, Eric Ouma
Midfielders: Victor Wanyama, Dennis Odhiambo, Erick Johanna, Ayub Timbe, Francis Kahata, Ismael Gonzalez, Ovella Ochieng, Paul Were, Johanna Omollo


Forwards: Masud Juma, Michael Olunga, John Avire