Gyan included in Ghana AFCON squad


Gyan Asamoah has been included Ghana's Africa Cup of Nations squad after being told by the nation's president that it's "in the national interest" that he makes a retirement u-turn.
Gyan, 33, announced his intention to end his 16-year national team career on Monday evening after a dispute with the Ghanaian FA over the Andre Ayew overtaking his role as captain.
However, days later he released an official statement claiming he's reconsiders his abrupt decision ahead of AFCON 2019 in Egypt next month.
"A presidential request is one that cannot be disregarded," said the former Sunderland striker in a statement. "I have taken the request of His Excellency Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo in good faith and will make myself available for selection by coach Kwasi Appiah to help win the AFCON trophy."
Amid the confusion and uproar within the shock decision of the all-time record scorer, the spokesperson of the head of state also released a statement to the media.
"President Akufo-Addo spoke on the telephone with Asamoah Gyan, and informed him of the considerable national disquiet over his decision to retire from the Black Stars," Eugene Arhin, said in a statement. 
"The president urged him, in the national interest, to rescind his decision to retire from the Black Stars, and make himself available for selection by Coach Kwasi Appiah."
Ghana 29-man provisional squad:
Goalkeepers: Richard Ofori (Maritzburg United), Lawrence Ati- Zigi  (Sochaux, Montbeliard, France), Felix Annan (Asante Kotoko, Ghana).
Defenders: John Boye (Metz, France), Andy Yiadom (Reading, England), Abdul Baba Rahman (Reims, France), Lumor Agbenyenu (Goztepe A.S, Turkey), Kassim Nuhu, (Hoffeinham, Germany), Jonathan Mensah (Columbus Crew SC, USA), Joseph Aidoo (Genk, Belguim), Nuhu Musa (St Gallen, Switzerland), Joseph Attamah (Basaksehir, Turkey), Mohammed Alhassan (Hearts of Oak, Ghana)
Midfielders: Mubarak Wakaso (Deportivo Alaves, Spain), Thomas Partey (Atletico Madrid, Spain), Kwadwo Asamoah (Internazionle, Italy), Ebenezer Ofori (New York FC, USA), Afriyie Acquah  (Empoli, Italy), Andre Ayew ( Fenerbache, Turkey), Christian Atsu (Newcastle United, England), Samuel Owusu (Cukaricki, Serbia), Thomas Agyepong (Hibernian, Scotland), Yaw Yeboah (Numancia, Spain), Abdul Fatawu (Asante Kotoko, Ghana)
Forwards: Asamoah Gyan (Kayserispor, Turkey), Jordan Ayew (Crystal Palace, England), Abdul Majeed Waris ( Nantes, France), Caleb Ekuban  (Trabzonspor, Turkey), Kwabena  Owusu (Leganes, Spain).