Onyango shortlisted for CAF awards

Onyango was among the 11 players for the Player of the Year, while he and SuperSport United striker Jeremy Brockie were also included in the list for the award based in Africa.

The Ugandan shot-stopper won the Player of the Year (based in Africa) prize last year, beating teammate Khama Billiat and Zambian Rainford Kalaba to the award.

Brockie finished the Confederation Cup campaign as the top scorer with 10 goals and will be hoping to win the award to make up for missing out on the title with Matsatsantsa.

SuperSport were shortlisted for the Club of the Year award, while Luther Singh was nominted for the CAF Youth Player of the Year.

Banyana Banyana have been nominated for the Women's Team of the Year and a member of the squad, Thembi Kgatlana, is shortlisted for the Women's Player of the Year award.

Phakamani Mahlambi's Al Ahly has also been nominated for the Club of the Year, along with CAF Confederation Cup and Champions League champions TP Mazembe and Wydad Casablanca.

Reigning Africa Cup of Nations champions Cameroon are shortlisted for the National Team of the Year award. They are joined by 2018 FIFA World Cup-bound sides Nigeria and Egypt. Zambia's national Under-20 team, which reached the quarterfinals of the World Cup in South Korea earlier this year, are part of the list, as well as Mali's U-17 team. 

African Player of the Year:

Bertrand Traore (Burkina Faso & Olympique Lyon)
Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)
Karim El Ahmadi (Morocco & Feyenoord)
Keita Balde (Senegal & Monaco)
Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)
Naby Keita (Guinea & RB Leipzig)
Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & B. Dortmund)
Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)
Victor Moses (Nigeria & Chelsea)
Vincent Aboubakar (Cameroon & Porto)
Yacine Brahimi (Algeria & Porto)

Player of the Year (Based in Africa)

Achraf Bencharki (Morocco & Wydad Athletic Club)
Ahmed Fathi (Egypt & Al Ahly)
Ali Maaloul (Tunisia & Al Ahly)
Aristide Bance (Burkina Faso & El Masry)
Ben Malango (DR Congo & TP Mazembe)
Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)
Jeremy Brockie (New Zealand & Supersport)
Junior Ajayi (Nigeria & Al Ahly)
Mohamed Ounnajem (Morocco & Wydad Athletic Club)
Taha Yassine Khenisssi (Tunisia & Esperance)