Amajimbos fall to Malawi

With the bronze medal on the line, both teams started the game in determined, with a number of fouls marring the opening stages of the game.

Yet it was Malawi who got their noses in front 27 minutes in as Tsamba’s unstoppable strike left South African goalkeeper Constandin Christodoulou helpless between the sticks.

South Africa’s best chance of the half came via the boot of Storm Jonas as he watched his free-kick sail narrowly over the bar, as Malawi took a 1-0 half-time lead.

That lead was soon doubled by the very same player Tsamba, who registered his name on the scoresheet just five minutes into the second stanza.

Yet Amajimbos showed fight and took the game to their opponents, earning a penalty with 23 minutes left on the clock as Junior Nare made sure of the goal on the rebound to give his side hope.

Yet it was not to be, as Malawi held on for a 2-1 win as South Africa finished the tournament fourth.

Sunday’s final sees Zambia and Mauritius square off for Cosafa Cup goal.

South African starting XI: Constandin Christodoulou (Thabang Maema 62’); Omphile Moeletsi, Koketso Mathibe; Kieron Jacks (C); Barry  Sithole; Cade Erickson; Storm Jonas; Lungile Makambi; Mohammed Shahabodien (Orifile Ramatlo 63’); James McFarlene (Mosala 64’); Junior Nare

Unused substitutions: Junior Khiba; Alex Da Silva;  Lungile Makhambi; Joshua Momdu; Sizwe Ntanzi; Boikanyo Segotlong