History made for several Downs stars

The Brazilians travel to Bloemfontein where they are set to face Bloemfontein Celtic in their final league clash of the 2017/18 campaign on Saturday.

READ: Mosimane: Lebese had to lose 8kgs

While the club will be lifting a record eighth title in the PSL era, several of their individual in the squad will be getting their hands on the coveted trophy for the very first time.

Ghanaian goalkeeper Razak Brimah, Brazilian defender Ricardo Nascimento, Uruguayan winger Gaston Sirino and New Zealand striker Jeremy Brockie all make up the foreign contingent at Chloorkop to bag their first league title on the African continent.

READ: Tickets for Downs vs Barca flying

Bafana Bafana internationals Anele Ngcongca, Thapelo Morena, Motjeka Madisha, Sibusio Vilakazi and Aubrey Ngoma will also be lifting the coveted trophy for first time.

Midfielder Lucky Mohomi, striker Thokozani Sekotlong and young Keletso Makgalwa are also amongst those to have played their parts in Sundowns’ success this term.

READ: Zakri, Hachi to leave Sundowns?

PSL Footballer of the Season favourite Percy Tau, meanwhile, will be touching the trophy for a second time. However, the 23-year-old played no part in the side’s success in 2015/16 and will be relishing this occasion as his first.

For the likes of Rivaldo Coetzee, Thendo Mukumela and Siyabonga Zulu, this will also have little significance given that they were unable to contribute on the field for the club.

Get the latest Sundowns news sent to your phone!

Below is the full list of players celebrating their maiden Absa Premiership medals, as well as the number of games and goals each one contributed:

Razak Brimah – 4 games

Anele Ngcongca – 13 games

Ricardo Nascimento – 15 games + 4 goals

Thapelo Morena – 22 games

Motjeka Madisha – 26 games + 1 goal

Sibusiso Vilakazi – 22 games + 6 goals

Lucky Mohomi – 2 games

Percy Tau (0 games in 2015/16) – 29 games + 11 goals

Jeremy Brockie – 6 games

Aubrey Ngoma – 3 games

Thokozani Sekotlong – 7 games + 2 goals

Gaston Sirino – 9 games

Keletso Makgalwa – 2 games


Rivaldo Coetzee – 0 games

Thendo Mukumela – 0 games

Siyabonga Zulu – 0 games