Bucs through to TKO last eight

Pirates gave a first start to Abbubaker Mobara, with Vincent Pule starting off the bench due to injury. Chippa meanwhile started with four former Bucs players.

Bucs started on a good note when Augustine Mulenga breakthrough the defence but was quickly thwarted by an on-rushing Daniel Akpeyi.

Chippa found a few chances of their own, but missed the opportunity to make them count with Kurt Lentjies the main culprit.

On 16 minutes, Xola Mlambo leaped high to head over the top following a cross from the left by Innocent Maela.

The Sea Robbers did find a few telling moments on the offensive, but lacked the killer instinct to test Akpeyi.

The visitors weren’t short, displaying their adventurous ways. On 35 minutes, Justin Shonga turned and got a shot way from inside the box but Akpeyi stretched his hand for a corner.

Surprisingly, Chippa made a change four minutes to halftime when Daine Klate took the spot of Mark Mayambela who skippered the side on the night.

Pirates made the first change following the second half, with Pule taking the spot of Mulenga. Chippa started the half with more purpose and found more shots on goal.

The Sea Robbers missed a few chances to break through and struck the post following a loose ball from Marcelo Da Silva from a corner on 55 minutes.

Chippa made their second change from the break as Rhulani Manzini took the spot of Kurt Lentjies on 58 minutes.

Pule proved why he has become so influential to his side’s cause this season after getting ahead of two defenders to tap home the opener on the half and hour mark.

Chippa tried to bounce back but Klate’s free-kick from the edge of the area hit the top of the net. The Easter Cape outfit continued pressing in the latter stages for the equaliser but weren’t successful.

As a result, the Sea Robbers sealed a passage to the last eight and join defending champions Bidvest Wits and Mamelodi Sundowns.


Pirates: Mabokgwane, Mobara, Jele, Marcelo, Maela, Motshwari, Nyatama, Mlambo, Lorch, Shonga, Mulenga.

Subs: Sandilands, Mbekile, Maphangule, Makola, Pule, Kutumela, Gabuza.

Chippa: Akpeyi, Nsabiyumva, Macheke, Mokeke, Sangweni, Malepe, Rahkale, Thlolane, Gamildien, Mayambela, Lentjies.

Subs: Mzimela, Komane, Klate, Modisane, Mbenyane, Manzini, Shongwe.