Changes galore for Pirates!

Telkom Knockout

Following Tuesday’s press conference at Naturena where Amakhosi announced the departures of club stars Itumeleng Khune, Tefu Mashamaite and Mandla Masango, Chiefs’ Carling Black Label Cup team took a new look, with goalkeeper Brilliant Khuzwayo and defender Kgotso Moleko making their way into the fans’ starting XI.

READ: Cup organisers address Chiefs matter

Yet in the latest count, Orlando Pirates have undergone noticeable changes in their line-up as well, with veteran defender Lucky Lekgwathi shooting up in the popularity stakes, his 24 104 votes meaning he replaces Siyabonga Sangweni in the Bucs back four, joining Happy Jele, Rooi Mahamutsa and Thabo Matlaba.

Another change has occurred in the centre of the park for Eric Tinkler’s men, as Sifiso Myeni replaces Issa Sarr in the middle of the park.

‘The Ghost’ also seem to have been impressed by Menzi Masuku’s impressive form towards the end of the season, with the youngster now leading the votes of both teams, having accumulated a total of 89 366 votes, just under 5000 votes ahead of Glamour Boys’ keeper Khuzwayo.

This year’s Carling Black Label Cup is scheduled to take place on 25 July at FNB Stadium.


Kaizer Chiefs: Khuzwayo - Gaxa, Moleko, Mathoho, Masilela - Lebese, Katsande, Letsholonyane, Tshabalala - Parker, Zulu

Orlando Pirates: Mhlongo - Jele, Mahamutsa, Lekgwathi, Matlaba - Rakhale, Manyisa, Myeni, M Masuku - Majoro, Erasmus