Chiefs most represented in Bafana squad

SA National Teams

Kaizer Chiefs' recent turnaround in form in the DStv Premiership has seen the club become the most represented team in the latest Bafana Bafana squad.

The Amakhosi are currently on a four-match unbeaten streak in the league which includes wins over Chippa United and SuperSport United, and have climbed to fifth in the log standings following a difficult start to the campaign.

Chiefs' recent domestic form has been recognised by national team coach Hugo Broos who named no fewer than five players from Naturena in his provisional squad for next month's 2022 FIFA World Cup qualifiers against Ghana and Ethiopia. 

READ | Broos recalls Chiefs Dolly to Bafana

That number includes Keagan Dolly, who has been called up for the first time since returning to South Africa from French Ligue 1 side Montpellier, as well as Bruce Bvuma, Njabulo Blom, Njabulo Ngcobo and S'fiso Hlanti.

Meanwhile, Golden Arrows and SuperSport United boast four representatives each in the latest selection, while AmaZulu, Cape Town City and reigning DStv Premiership champions Mamelodi Sundowns all have three players under consideration.

Scroll through the gallery to South Africa's all-time leading goalscorers in World Cup qualifying

The provisional Bafana Bafana squad for November's 2022 FIFA World Cup qualifiers: 

Goalkeepers: Ronwen Williams (Supersport United), Veli Mothwa (AmaZulu FC), Bruce Bvuma (Kaizer Chiefs) & Oscarine Masuluke (Baroka FC)

Defenders: Nyiko Mobbie (Sekhukhune FC), Rushine De Reuck (Mamelodi Sundowns), Luke Fleurs (Supersport United), Terrence Mashego (Cape Town City), Njabulo Blom (Kaizer Chiefs), Siyanda Xulu (Hapoel Tel Aviv), Njabulo Ngcobo (Kaizer Chiefs), S'fiso Hlanti (Kaizer Chiefs), Thapelo Morena (Mamelodi Sundowns), Thibang Phete (Belenenses), Tercious Malepe (AmaZulu FC) & Sbonelo Cele (Golden Arrows FC)

Midfielders: Teboho Mokoena (Supersport United), Thabani Zuke (Golden Arrows), Mothobi Mvala (Mamelodi Sundowns), Jesse Donn (Supersport United), Sphelele Sithole (Belenenses), Yusuf Maart (Sekhukhune), Ethan Brooks (TS Galaxy), Mduduzi Mdantsane (Cape Town), Siyethemba Sithebe (AmaZulu FC) & Nqobeko Dlamini (Golden Arrows)

Strikers: Evidence Makgopa (Baroka FC), Luther Singh (Copenhagen FC), Bongokuhle Hlongwane (Maritzburg Utd), Victor Letsoalo (Royal AM), Percy Tau (Al Ahly), Keagan Dolly (Kaizer Chiefs), Tshegofatso Mabasa (Orlando Pirates), Pule Mmodi (Golden Arrows) & Fagrie Lakay (Cape Town City)

SA teams who played in CAFCL group stage

Pirates, Gallants learn CAFCC fates

Nurkovic's return to Serbia explained