SA U23 coach names pre-Olympic team

SA National Teams

South Africa under-23 national team head coach David Notoane has named a 25-man squad to travel to Dubai next month as they gear up their Olympic preparations.

The Olympic men's team is beginning to take shape with the Summer Games set to take place in Tokyo now just under two months away.

Notoane will be leading his charges into a mini-tournament featuring the likes of Brazil, Argentina and Korea in the United Arab Emirates from 5-11 June.

The team is mostly made up of European-based players but among them are also three stars from Mamelodi Sundowns, one from Kaizer Chiefs and one from Orlando Pirates.

"The upcoming camp in Dubai is one that kick-starts our preparations for the Olympic Games," declared Notoane.

"It is also aimed at integrating our foreign based players to see what they can bring into the group in terms of increasing the team quality and addressing key challenging positions.

"We hope that we can get all the players that we require to integrate them during this vital preparation camp against Brazil, Korea and Argentina.

"It will also give us a good measure in terms of the level of our players’ state of preparedness for the Tokyo Olympics later in July."

Full U-23 squad:

GK: Mondli Mpoto (Bloemfontein Celtic), Lincoln Vyver (Cape Town Spurs), Ricardo Goss (Mamelodi Sundowns)

DEF: Tercious Malepe (FC Minaj, Ukraine), Katlego Mohamme (University of Pretoria), Thendo  Mukumela (Cape Town Spurs), Luke Fleurs (SuperSport United), Bongani Sam (Orlando Pirates), Keanu Cupido (Cape Town City), Kamogelo Mahlangu (TS Galaxy)

MID: Luke Le Roux (Varbergs BoIS, Sweden), Thabo Cele (Cova da Piedade, Portugal), Khanya Leshabela (Liecester City, England), Athenkosi Dlala (University of Pretoria), Neo Gift Links (Aarhus GF, Denmark), Kobamelo Kodisang (Sporting Braga, Portugal), Nkosingiphile Ngcobo (Kaizer Chiefs), Sphephelo Sithole (Os Belenenses, Portugal), Promise Mkhuma (Mamelodi Sundowns)

STR: Fagrie Lakay (Cape Town City) Siyabonga Ligendza (Cardiff City, England), Luther Singh (Pacos de Ferreira, Portugal), Keletso Makgalwa (Mamelodi Sundowns), Lyle Foster (Vitoria Guimares, Portugal), Liam Jordan (Helsingor, Denmark)