Bafana edge Botswana in plate final

SA National Teams

Bafana Bafana registered a 2-1 win over Botswana in the COSAFA Cup plate final at the Sugar Ray Xulu Stadium on Sunday morning.

Goalkeeper Olwethu Mzimela, McBeth Mahlangu, Sbonelo Cele, Khulekani Shezi, Dan Ndhlovu, Katlego Mashigo and Antonio Van Wyk were amongst the changes instituted by Bafana.

Very little in as far as openings from the two nations showed in the earlier exchanges though the amount of possession between the two indicated signs of promise.

Bafana began to up the tempo just over the midway period of the first half with Van Wyk bursting down the right and into the box for a sight to goal, but goalkeeper Goitseone Phoko parried.

The man from Stellenbosch FC atoned a few minutes later when he went and applied a deft finish to break the deadlock.

Scroll through the gallery to see South Africa's all-time leading goalscorers in World Cup qualifying

A double substitution from Bafana came six minutes before halftime when Siyanda Msani replaced Cele and Selaelo Rasebotja came on for Mashigo.

The Zebras of Botswana were out recharged in the second half and showed an alteration in Gape Calvin Thibedi ahead of Alford Velaphi.

Nonetheless, Bafana eagerly looked to hold onto their advantage and instead nearly snatched a second when Rowan Human unleashed a powerful shot outside the area that bothered Phoko.

Bafana continued to enjoy confidence in and out of possession as the half started to wind down and almost got a second from a pacey run out wide and into the box by Msani.

In the last 10 minutes, the tournament hosts eventually bagged a second goal through a smart finish from close proximity by SuperSport United midfielder Rasebotja from a ball by Jayden Adams.

Botswana were dealt a blow seconds apart this as second half substitute Odirile Lekoba picked up a straight red card.

The home nation tried to hold out for a clean sheet though their efforts were undone as Botswana got a consolation at the death through Thato Kebue, but 2-1 was the final score.

Confirmed line-ups:

Bafana: Mzimela, Mahlangu, Johannes, Mcaba, Cele, Ndhlovu, Shezi, Van Wyk, Mashigo, Human, Malivha

Botswana: Phoko, David, Kolagamo, Kopelang, Velaphi, Cooper, Tauyatswala, Ditsele, Kebue, Thatanyane.