Baloyi in the dark about new SAFA job

SA National Teams

Kaizer Chiefs and Bafana Bafana legend Brian Baloyi says he is still in the dark about his new role at SAFA after the news was announced by the Association.

During Saturday's National Executive Committee meeting it was decided that former national team players Lucas Radebe and David Nyathi are now part of SAFA's technical committee.

The Association also announced that Baloyi and Fabian McCarthy will work on SAFA's marketing, media and commercial committee.

'Spiderman' says he read about the new developments in the papers.

"Angiyazi lento nami ngiyibon'ephepheni weekend [I don't know anything about this I only saw in the newspaper on the weekend]," Baloyi tells

"Ask the person who wrote it where did he get that, you can even call Fabian he will tell you. I don't know. I just saw it in the paper, that's all. I haven't spoken to anyone... I don't know."

Asked about Baloyi's claims, SAFA acting CEO Tebogo Motlanthe says the players have always been part of the Association.

"Yes, yes, but Brian Baloyi, Lucas Radebe and others they've always been there in our committees. Lucas Radebe, Buddha Mathate... they are in the technical committees," he explains.

"Brian Baloyi and Fabian McCarthy they are in our commercial, marketing and communications committee. He [Baloyi] will get the letter confirming that.

"Just former players, we need them to be involved. You can see all our women national teams they are coached by former Banyana players. And in Africa, I'm sure we are the only country, even our senior national team is coached by a woman."

Besides Baloyi and McCarthy, check out 14 other stars who played for both Chiefs and Sundowns in the PSL

SAFA's statement over the weekend read, in part: 'During the SAFA NEC meeting held at SAFA House on Saturday, 19 September 2020, it was resolved that the Technical Committee is a vital component of football development and as a result should be beefed up.

'Former Bafana Bafana and Leeds United legend, Lucas Radebe is back in the committee and joins another decorated player David Nyathi in the setup.

'Among other members of the Technical Committee are Boobie Solomons, Farouk Khan, Sudesh Singh and president of the SA Football Coaches Association, Greg Mashilo. All national team coaches form part of the Technical Committee as well as the Technical Director.'

Pitso's 6 picks for player of the season

Pitso: Why players get stuck in the stands

Hunt's assessment of Chiefs squad