Ntseki surprises with Bafana squad

SA National Teams

Bafana Bafana caretaker coach Molefi Ntseki has named his squad for the upcoming fixture with reigning COSAFA champions Zambia next month.

Ntseki, who remporarily holds the reins following the resignation of Stuart Baxter last month, has named a 23-man squad to travel to Lusaka for their clash with Chipolopolo on September 7 (15h00).

READ: Bafana coach debate: Local or foreign?

"We've added new faces not because we are not happy with players at AFCON but life has taught me to pave my own way, instead of following someone else's path," said Ntseki in his address.

"I've learnt so much from my predecssors, whom I'd like to thank, and as I announce my first squad as interim coach, I'd like to state that I know there are many eligible players but I cannot please everyone.

"I might make a few mistakes but I hope that will not derail the progress that we've made in the past."

A few surprises include the return of Kaizer Chiefs defender Erick Mathoho, who has scored two goals in two appearances this season, as well as the inclusions of Bidvets Wits goalkeeper Brandon Petersen and Cape Town City midfielder Thato Mokeke, who Ntseki explained will be used as a defender due to his versatility.

Mamelodi Sundowns full-back Thapelo Morena finally gets a look in after being deemed unfeasible by former coach Stuart Baxter.

READ: Pitso for dual Sundowns, Bafana role?

The squad will assemble on September 1 at Tsogo Sun Hotel in Kempton Park, with the team set to train at Germiston Stadium before departing for Lusaka on September 5.

Full squad:

Goalkeepers: Darren Keet (OH Leuven, Belgium), Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United), Brandon Petersen (Bidvest Wits)

Defenders: Erick Mathoho (Kaizer Chiefs), Buhle Mkhwanazi, Thulani Hlatshwayo (both Bidvest Wits), Thapelo Morena (Mamelodi Sundowns), Innocent Maela (Orlando Pirates), Thami Mkhize, Thato Mokeke (both Cape Town City)

Midfielders: Kamo Mokotjo (Brentford, England), Rivaldo Coetzee (Mamelodi Sundowns), Dean Furman (SuperSport United), Lebo Phiri (Guingamp, France), Bongani Zungu (Amiens, France), Thembinkosi Lorch (Orlando Pirates), Thulani Serero (Vitesse, Netherlands), Lebo Maboe (Mamelodi Sundowns), Keagan Dolly (Montpellier, France)

Forwards: Percy Tau (Club Brugge, Belgium), Lebo Mothiba (Strasbourg, France), Bradley Grobler (SuperSport United), Kermit Erasmus (Cape Town City)

READ: Letsoaka changing Botswana football