Bafana's all-time leading COSAFA Cup scorers

SA National Teams

With the 2022 COSAFA Cup set to get underway next week, here is a recap of South Africa's all-time leading goalscorers in the competition.

The 2022 Hollywoodbets COSAFA CUP will be staged in Durban from 5-17 July 2022 and will see hosts South Africa look to retain the title they won in the Nelson Mandela Bay last year.

Scroll through the gallery above to see South Africa's all-time leading goalscorers at the COSAFA Cup

Historically, the competition has served as a proving ground for future national team stars, with the likes of Patrick Mayo, Pollen Ndlanya, Teko Modise and Katlego Mphela among those who burst onto the international scene at the regional tournament.

The quartet all feature among South Africa's leading goalscorers at the COSAFA Cup, having scored three times each, which is a figure matched by the likes of Gift Motupa and Lebohang Maboe in recent years.

One man stands alone as Bafana Bafana's all-time leading goalscorer, though, with Victor Letsoalo claiming that honour after his prolific goalscoring form at the 2021 edition of the competition.

RECAP | Letsoalo makes history on Bafana debut

The Royal AM star scored a hat-trick on debut in the 4-0 Group A victory over Lesotho – following Benni McCarthy as the only other player to score three or more times in a match for South Africa – before adding to his tally in the semi-final win over Mozambique.

South Africa went on to win the tournament following a penalty shootout victory over guests Senegal and Letsoalo earned the Golden Boot award for his four goals, becoming the first Bafana player to win the coveted prize.

Bafana to benefit from COSAFA Cup rule changes?

The 2021 COSAFA Cup awards winners

Mkhalele impressed by Bafana Bafana young guns