Broos names 23-man squad for WCQ

SA National Teams

Bafana Bafana head coach Hugo Broos has named his 23-man squad for the upcoming 2022 FIFA World Cup qualifiers.

South Africa are set to face Ghana and Zimbabwe in their opening qualifiers for Qatar 2022 next month and after initially selecting a squad comprising of 31 players, it has now been trimmed to 23.

It will mark the first time the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations winning coach will sit in the dugout for Bafana after the originally scheduled qualifiers in June was postponed due to the Covid-19 travel restrictions in Africa.

The Belgian tactician then missed out on the international friendly against Uganda due to returning home to received his second vaccination while he sat out for the Cosafa Cup which South Africa triumphed in Gqeberha.

Bafana will face the Warriors on Friday 3 September at the National Sports Stadium in Zimbabwe before hosting the Black Stars at FNB Stadium three days later.

Bafana's 23-man squad in full:

Goalkeepers: Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United), Veli Mothwa (AmaZulu), Bruce Bvuma (Kaizer Chiefs)

Defenders: Nyiko Mobbie (Mamelodi Sundowns), Rushine De Reuck (Mamelodi Sundowns), Thapelo Morena (Mamelodi Sundowns), Siyanda Xulu (Haopel Tel Aviv, Israel), Thibang Phete (Belenenses, Portugal), Thabani Dube (Kaizer Chiefs), Sibusiso Mabiliso (Kaizer Chiefs)

Midfielders: Sipho Mbule (Supersport United), Teboho Mokoena (Supersport United), Mothobi Mvala (Mamelodi Sundowns), Njabulo Blom (Kaizer Chiefs) Ethan Brooks (TS Galaxy) Yusuf Maart (Sekhukhune United)

Forwards: Thabiso Kutumela (Mamelodi Sundowns), Bongokuhle Hlongwane (Maritzburg United), Gift Links (Aarhus, Denmark), Evidence Makgopa (Baroka FC), Victor Letsoalo (Royal AM), Luther Singh (FC Copenhagen, Denmark) & Percy Tau (Brighton & Hove Albion, England)

Broos comments on Tau to Ahly talk

'Broos watching SA with keen interest'

Broos: If we don't qualify you can kill me