How Bafana captain, coach voted at FIFA awards

SA National Teams

After Robert Lewandowski was crowned as the best FIFA Men's Player on Monday, here's a look at how Bafana Bafana captain Ronwen Williams and coach Hugo Broos voted for the award.

For the second consecutive year, Bayern Munich and Poland striker Robert Lewandowski was crowned as the world's best player after pipping Lionel Messi and Mohamed Salah to the award at The Best FIFA awards ceremony on Monday.

Lewandowski was a unanimous choice to win the award in votes tallied by South Africa captain Ronwen Williams and national team coach Hugo Broos, who both selected the 33-year-old as the top pick for the 2021 accolade.

In ballot documents revealed by Spanish publication Marca, it is shown that Williams chose the legendary to win the award ahead of Real Madrid and France striker Karim Benzema and Chelsea midfielder N'Golo Kante.

Broos similarly selected Lewandowski for the coveted award, although he opted for Argentine superstar Lionel Messi as his second choice and Manchester City and Belgium ace Kevin De Bruyne for the third position.

Meanwhile, Robert Marawa was invited to vote as South Africa's media representative and the veteran sportscaster submitted his pick for Lewandowski, Liverpool and Egypt forward Mohamed Salah, and Benzema, in that order.

Scroll the gallery below to see all of the award winners from Monday's FIFA awards ceremony

Mokotjo to return to former club?

Ngcobo's top five Chiefs goals

OFFICIAL: 2021 FIFA POTY announced