Sifama headlines new-look Amajita squad

SA National Teams

Amajita head coach Helman Mkhalele has announced a 28-man preliminary squad for the upcoming U-20 COSAFA Cup.

With several of the U-20 stars now moving up to the U-23 squad with David Notoane, Mkhalele has called upon some of the outstanding talent produced in the MultiChoice Diski Challenge.

Kaizer Chiefs duo Bontle Molefe and Keletso Sifama, along with SuperSport United's Oswin Appolis were among the standout performers in recent times - while former Bidvest Wits talent Rowan Human is also included.

The 19-year-old playmaker is the only player selected based outside South Africa after he joined Israeli giants Maccabi Tel Aviv during the off-season.

Scroll through the gallery to see where Sifama ranks amongst Chiefs' youngest debutants

Eight players will be cut before the final squad will be named for the regional tournament set to take place in Port Elizabeth between 3 and 13 December.

"I am truly looking forward to this year's COSAFA Men's Under-20 Championship," Mkhalele said. "We have roped in talented players which I believe have what it takes to represent the country in at the upcoming tournament.

"We can only take 20 of them to the tournament and I believe each and every one of them, do have what it takes to make the team."

South Africa will face Zimbabwe, Lesotho and Mozambique in Group A, with the top two sides progressing to the knockout stages of the competition.

Amajita squad in full:

Goalkeepers: Olwethu Mzimela (AmaZulu), Bontle Molefe (Kaizer Chiefs), Sipho Maseti (TS Galaxy)

Defenders: Nkosikhona Radebe (KZN Academy), Kyle Coimbra (Bedfordview), Nelson Ralenkoane (Orlando Pirates), Athenkosi Mcaba (Wits), Paul Makola (Mamelodi Sundowns), Macbeth Mahlangu (TS Galaxy)


Rivaldo Present (Ubuntu), Sydney Malivha (Matanada Rockers), Bilal Baloyi (SuperSport United), Boikanyo Segotlong (Orlando Pirates), Mpho Mathebula (SuperSport United), Sandile Nyundu (TS Galaxy FC), Tshepo Myeni (Kaizer Chiefs), Ethan Brooks (TS Galaxy), Rowan Human (Maccabi Tel Aviv), Jayden Adams (Stellenbosch), Selaelo Rasebotja (SuperSport United), Oswin Appolis (SuperSport United), Katlego Tsotetsi (Orlando Pirates), Rahim Milazi (Kaizer Chiefs), Sechaba Ramosedi (TS Galaxy)


Keletso Sifama (Kaizer Chiefs), Sinenjongo Mkiva (SuperSport United), Keenan Bezuidenhout (SuperSport United), Lindokuhle Zungu (AmaZulu), Ndumiso Xulu (TS Galaxy)

Courtois, De Bruyne pay respects to Anele

Pitso fever causes stir at Ahly training

CAF president handed lengthy ban