Bafana clinch the Cosafa Cup title

SA National Teams

Bafana Bafana have clinched the COSAFA Cup title with a penalty shoot-out victory over Senegal on Sunday evening.

After a commanding showing in the semi-finals against Mozambique, Bafana felt the there was no need to alter the line up as Yusuf Maart continued in midfield after bagging the last two Man of the Match awards.

While both sides came into the encounter having no problem in front of goal, neither were able mount any serious attempts on target eventhough Senegal had a bit more of the ball.

Bafana did show a bit of attacking intent as the half went on, with Victor Letsoalo managing to get behind the Senegal defence on a couple ocassions but he was unable to test goalkeeper Pape Ndiaye.

While there were hardly chances in the half, the game did threaten to get ugly with both sides guilty of committing some tough fouls in the closing stages of the stanza.

Victor Letsoalo broke a few Bafana Bafana records earlier this week - check them out in the gallery below

Senegal had to wait until the hour mark to force Veli Mothwa into action, with the Bafana shot-stopper showing good reflexes to keep out Mohammed Ba's powerful volley from the edge of the box.

At the other end, Njabulo Ngcobo almost got his second goal of the tournament but his glancing header was saved by Ndiaye as the game began to open up for both teams.

Ethan Brooks was brought on to freshen up the legs as Maart dropped to the bench on 78 minutes while Lebohang Maboe replaced top scorer Letsoalo in the hope of breaking the deadlock.

Unfortunately, the two changes were unable to help Bafana get the goal in the final 12 minutes, forcing the clash into extra-time which was bad news for the both teams as they only had one rest day.

The trend would carry over into extra-time as Bafana were unable to take advantage of their dominance throughout, but it didn't matter as South Africa triumphed in the shoot-out after Ndiaye sent spot-kick over the crossbar.

Confirmed line-ups:

Senegal: P. Ndiaye, Kane, Sane, Gningue, Diene, Mendy, Mohammed, Djitte, Diop, Kante, Fall.

Bafana: Mothwa, Mobbie, De Reuck, Ngcobo, Ngobeni, Dube, Maart, Letsoalo, Mkhulise, Saleng, Sithebe.

Subs: Vyver, Sibanyoni, Mphahlele, Konqobe, Maboe, Malinga, Brooks, Sibiya.

Zambia and Micho part ways

Gallery: Pitso celebrates third CCL title