Ayew: Ghana should've had TWO penalties

SA National Teams

Ghana captain André Ayew has dismissed suggestions that his side unduly benefitted from a controversial penalty decision during Sunday's victory over South Africa.

Ghana advanced to the next round of 2022 FIFA World Cup qualifiers at the expense of South Africa on Sunday after a controversial penalty decision ultimately earned the Black Stars a narrow 1-0 win over Bafana Bafana in Accra.

READ | Broos blasts referee after dubious penalty call

Milovan Rajevac's outfit came into the match three points behind South Africa in the Group G standings but knew that a win by any margin would be enough to secure Ghana's progression to the final round of qualifiers.

The West African giants were awarded an early opportunity to make that happen after Rushine De Reuck was controversially adjudged to have fouled Daniel Amartey in the box by Sengalese referee Maguette Ndiaye.

READ | Pienaar, Pitso hit out at EMBARRASSING penalty call

Replays suggested there was minimal contact but, with no Video Assistant Referee (VAR), the decision stood and Ayew duly converted the resultant spot-kick by sending Ronwen Williams the wrong way.

Scroll through the gallery to South Africa's all-time leading goalscorers in World Cup qualifying

That goal ultimately proved to be decisive as Ghana, who dominated the early proceedings, survived a late charge from South Africa to claim a priceless victory and progression to the next round.

Following the match, national team captain Ayew, who won his 100th international cap on the evening, claimed that the penalty decision was the correct one and that he and his teammates could have had at least another call go in their favour.

"Yes, we won fair and square," the 31-year-old said. "I think we had more clear chances. It was a tough game, South Africa came and they did their job but we won this game fair and square.

"We could have scored more. And I think the penalty was a clear penalty, and I think it was the other way around, the referee should have given two penalties. But it is part of the game.

"We are happy that we have won and that we are going through to the next round and now there is a big job to do in March."

Broos blasts referee after dubious penalty call

Pienaar, Pitso hit out at EMBARRASSING penalty call

Ghana dash Bafana's World Cup hopes

comments