Where are the last 10 Golden Boot winners?


Following Victor Letsoalo's recent admission about targetting the Lesley Manyathela Golden Boot, here is a look at where the previous 10 winners of the award are now.

Earlier this week, Bafana Bafana star Victor Letsoalo told Kickoff.com that he was aiming to win this season's coveted Golden Boot award after netting twice during Royal AM's 4-1 thrashing of Kaizer Chiefs on Saturday.

The former Bloemfontein Celtic striker now has three goals for the campaign and would follow in the footsteps of some of the most illustrious players to have won the award, which was most recently claimed by SuperSport United striker Bradley Grobler.

Scroll through the gallery above to see where the last 10 winners of the Golden Boot are now

Grobler netted 16 times in the DStv Premiership last time out and will once again be Matsatantsa's biggest goal threat this season, having remained at the club despite reported interest from elsewhere.

Before him, Peter Shaulile – then of Highlands Park – and Orlando Pirates' Gabadinho Mhango shared the 2019/20 award with the same goals tally. Mhango is still with the Buccaneers while Shalulile's return earned him a move to Mamelodi Sundowns, where he won the PSL Footballer of the Year crown last season. 

Zambian hitman Mwape Musonda took the accolade in the year before after also scoring 16 times for Black Leopards. His performances in the South African top-flight later earned him a move to Saudi Arabia before he returned to Mzansi to join Swallows FC.

In the 2017/18 season, the award was shared for the very first time when Sundowns' Percy Tau and Polokwane City's Rodney Ramagelela netted 12 times each. The duo enjoyed differing fortunes thereafter, however, as Tau earned a move to Premier League side Brighton & Hove Albion while Ramagelela was frozen out.

The former has since moved to Egyptian giants Al Ahly, who are coached by former Masandawana coach Pitso Mosimane, while the latter is looking to revive his career after joining Chippa United following a spell with Highlands Park.

Lebogang Manyama won the award with Cape Town City prior to that and is now with Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs, while Collins Mbesuma – the only player to have won the award on more than one occasion – is seeing out his career with Pretoria Callies.

The 2014/15 top scorer, Moeketsi Sekola, won the award with Free State Stars and returned to the club at the start of the current campaign while Bernard Parker, who won the award with just 10 goals in the season before, is still with Kaizer Chiefs.

Katlego Mashego won the 2012/13 gong but has since retired, as has legendary forward Siyabonga Nomvethe, who is now an assistant coach to Benni McCarthy at Premiership side AmaZulu. 

Modise lands new Sundowns role

Mhango warned over party lifestyle

Zungu training separately at Amiens