The 2021/22 PSL awards nominees revealed!


The nominees for the 2021/22 PSL awards have been revealed with stars from Mamelodi Sundowns dominating the list of potential winners.

Mamelodi Sundowns' domination of the domestic football in South Africa this season has been recognised by the PSL who have nominated 13 representatives from the club across the 10 categories for the 2021/22 PSL awards.

Masandawna lifted the MTN 8 title earlier this year before going on to secure the DStv Premiership title with games to spare and could complete a famous treble by winning the Nedbank Cup later this month.

As a result, the club is the best-represented team in South Africa among this season's awards nominees; including all three spots for the highly-coveted DStv Premiership Players' Player of the Season accolade.

READ | Official: Kwinika to return to Chiefs

PSL Footballer of the Season: Peter Shalulile (Mamelodi Sundowns); Andile Jali (Mamelodi Sundowns) & Victor Letsoalo (Royal AM)

PSL Coach of the Season: John Maduka (Royal AM); Manqoba Mngqithi & Rulani Mokwena (Mamelodi Sundowns) & Eric Tinkler (Cape Town City)

DStv Premiership Players' Player of the Season: Peter Shalulile (Mamelodi Sundowns); Themba Zwane (Mamelodi Sundowns) & Andile Jali (Mamelodi Sundowns)

DStv Premiership Young Player of the Season: Athenkosi Mcaba (Stellenbosch FC); Kwame Peprah (Orlando Pirates) & Luke Fleurs (SuperSport United)

DStv Premiership Midfielder of the Season: Andile Jali (Mamelodi Sundowns); Themba Zwane (Mamelodi Sundowns) & Mduduzi Mdantsane (Cape Town City)

DStv Premiership Defender of the Season: Grant Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns); Lyle Lakay (Mamelodi Sundowns) & Thamsanqa Mkhize (Cape Town City)

DStv Premiership Goalkeeper of the Season: Hugo Marques (Cape Town City); Toaster Nsabata (Sekhukhune United) & Veli Mothwa (AmaZulu)

READ | Stellies to use Downs win as springboard for Cape derby

Meanwhile, Sundowns and Marumo Gallants will compete for the Nedbank Cup title later this month, and both clubs are represented among the nominees for the competition's Player of the Tournament award.

Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament: Andile Jali (Mamelodi Sundowns); Aubrey Modiba (Mamelodi Sundowns) & King Ndlovu (Marumo Gallants)

Nedbank Cup Most Promising Player: Keegan Allan (University of Pretoria); Luvuyo Phewa (University of Pretoria) & Mfundo Thikazi (Royal AM)

READ | Nange hopeful of Kaizer Chiefs' CAF qualification

Elsewhere, Sundowns also dominate the nominations for the MTN 8 awards, while the best and brightest from Soweto rivals Kaizer Chiefs and Orlando Pirates will battle for the DStv Diski Challenge gongs.

MTN 8 Last Man Standing: Peter Shalulile (Mamelodi Sundowns); Andile Jali (Mamelodi Sundowns) & Surprise Ralani (Cape Town City FC)*

DStv Diski Challenge Player of the Season: Mduduzi Shabalala (Kaizer Chiefs) & Boitumelo Radiopane (Orlando Pirates)

* Surprise Ralani joined Mamelodi Sundowns from Cape Town City following the conclusion of the 2021/22 MTN 8 campaign.

You can also vote for your KICK OFF Footballer of the Season below