2019/20 PSL Awards winners announced


The 2019/20 PSL Awards winners have been announced with Pitso Mosimane among the big successes at the prestigious event hosted on Thursday evening.

With the coronavirus pandemic still rife in South Africa, the annual awards were hosted via a virtual event ahead of the inaugural DStv Premiership campaign that kicks off this weekend.

READ: Zwane takes clean sweep at PSL awards

In a memorable finale of the Absa Premiership, which ended after a 13-year association with the South African top-flight, there were several standout performers.

With Mamelodi Sundowns securing a domestic treble, it comes as no surprise to see former Brazilians mentor Mosimane walk away with the coveted honour.

The new Al Ahly head coach pipped ex-Kaizer Chiefs coach Ernst Middendorp, who rivalled him for the title, and Eric Tinkler, who transformed Maritzburg United into top-eight finishers after narrowly surviving relegation in the 2018/19 season.

2019/20 winners:

Absa Premiership Coach of the Season

Pitso Mosimane (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Absa Premiership Young Player of the Season

Goodman Mosele (Baroka FC)

Absa Premiership Goalkeeper of the Season

Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United)

Absa Premiership Defender of the Season

Rushine De Reuck (Maritzburg United)

Absa Premiership Midfielder of the Season

Themba Zwane (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Absa Premiership Goal of the season

MTN8 Last Man Standing

Bradley Grobler (SuperSport United)

Telkom Knockout Player of the Tournament:

Gaston Sirino (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Nedbank Cup Most Promising Player (U23)

Keletso Makgalwa (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament

Victor Letsoalo (Bloemfontein Celtic)

Referee of the Season:

Jelly Chavani

Assistant Referee of the Season:

Shaun Olive

Mkhulise: I used to be the ball-boy

Shabba: Why I didn't rejoin Chiefs

Zwane makes Surprise Moriri admission