Chippa edge Rich Boyz in play-off opener


Chippa United drew first blood in the Premier Soccer League promotion/relegation play-offs after defeating Richards Bay FC 2-1 on Saturday afternoon.

Originally, this particular battle were postponed twice in the past week by Royal AM who filed two court interdicts to get the game cancelled due to protest over the awarding of points.

The Chilli Boys rolled out the tried and tested hours after learning the resumption of the clash, as their counterparts from the KwaZulu-Natal province did the same things.

Chippa launched the first trouble within 20 minutes through a delivery towards the danger area from Maloisane Mokhele, but it was well thwarted by the Natal Rich Boys.

Over and beyond another chance fell to the Chilli Boys from a ball by Ayabulela Konqobe to Peter Maloisane, who looked for a chip but goalkeeper Malcolm Jacobs gathered.

Richards Bay began to find confidence following the half-hour mark and presented their first threat through Khanyisa Mayo, but goalkeeper Rashid Watenga saved.

It was the Chilli Boys that went on to make the breakthrough five minutes after halftime courtesy of a clever finish from Sandile Mthethwa.

Chippa added more alterations ten minutes from the interval period in Sizwe Mdlinzo and Bienvenu Eva Nga for Oupa Manyisa and Andile Mbenyane respectively.

The Natal Rich Boys were inches close to an equaliser midway following the second half, however the Chilli Boys covered ground and saw Kurt Lentjies clear from the goal-line.

However, Chippa made the result safe from doubt in the last eight minutes through substitute Mdlinzo.

Richards Bay looked for a consolation following the closing stages, and it materialised through the services of Paseka Sekese as it finished 2-1.

Confirmed line-ups:

Chippa: Watenga, Nhlapo, Mthethwa, Mokhele, Sangweni, Manyisa, Lebitso, Konqobe, Maloisane, Lentjies, Mbenyane.

Subs: Mtshali, Nsabiyumva, Hanamub, Kwen, Laffor, Phewa, Msane, Mdlinzo.

Richards Bay: Jacobs, Maphathe, Mabua, Mcineka, Dube, Mtolo, Mayo, Goldstone, Vilane, Sekese, Ntsundwane

Subs: Mpakumpaku, Mkhize, Radabe, Hlongwa, Zwane, Mthethwa, Ogbonna, Mabuya, Zulu

PSL play-offs given the green light