PSL transfer window officially opens


Today marks the official opening of the PSL transfer window ahead of the 2020/21 season as clubs, except Kaizer Chiefs, look to formally register new signings.

PSL chairman Irvin Khoza earlier confirmed that the domestic transfer window will run from 22 September until 17 November due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

Check out the gallery above for 11 high-profile deals that have been completed ahead of the 2020/21 season

The global pandemic meant the completion of the 2019/20 domestic football seasons all across the world were delayed, which has also had a knock-on effect on the 2020/21 season.

As such, FIFA made provision for each member association to reschedule their respective registration periods on the transfer matching system, with SAFA approving the dates proposed by the PSL.

READ: Khoza explains Hotto, Tyson deals

Though several transfers have been confirmed already, clubs will now officially be able to register their new acquisitions for the new season.

This, however, does not include Chiefs, who are still serving a transfer ban until an outcome of their appeal with the Court of Arbitration for Sport (CAS) is reached.

Amakhosi made representations to CAS on September 9 in an attempt to have their ban overturned, but the Swiss-based court is yet to reach a verdict, which could still take weeks.

READ: Monare, Hlanti stunned by tweet release

Dates for the start of next season are yet to be confirmed but rumours suggest the League is targeting the first weekend after the FIFA international break of 7-15 October.

Chiefs issue transfer ban update

13-goal Ntuli hands in transfer request