Pitso edges closer to Hunt and Co

Mosimane claimed his third league title, becoming the first Sundowns coach to do so in the PSL era, while moving closer to the four which Dumitru, Igesund and Hunt have won.

The late Dumitru won two of them with Sundowns in 1997/98 and 1998/99 before going on to lift another two with Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs in 2003/04 and 2004/05. He was the first coach in the PSL era to win four titles, but was soon joined by former Bafana Bafana coach Igesund.

Igesund won the inaugural PSL title in 1996/97 with Manning Rangers and went on to win titles with Orlando Pirates (2000/01), Santos (2001/02) and Sundowns (2006/07).

Hunt, meanwhile, become the first coach to win three titles in a row when he inspired SuperSport United to glory between 2007 and 2010. He made it four titles when he steered Bidvest Wits to their first ever league championship crown last season.

Current Bafana coach Stuart Baxter is on two league titles, which he won while in charge of Chiefs. 


1996/97 – Gordon Igesund (Manning Rangers)

1997/98 – Ted Dumitru (Mamelodi Sundowns)

1998/99 – Ted Dumitru (Mamelodi Sundowns)

1999/00 – Paul Dolezar (Mamelodi Sundowns)

2000/01 – Gordon Igesund (Orlando Pirates)

2001/02 – Gordon Igesund (Santos)

2002/03 – Roy Barreto (Orlando Pirates)

2003/04 – Ted Dumitru (Kaizer Chiefs)

2004/05 – Ted Dumitru (Kaizer Chiefs)

2005/06 – Neil Tovey/Miguel Gamondi (Mamelodi Sundowns)

2006/07 – Gordon Igesund (Mamelodi Sundowns)

2007/08 – Gavin Hunt (SuperSport United)

2008/09 – Gavin Hunt (SuperSport United)

2009/10 – Gavin Hunt (SuperSport United)

2010/11 – Ruud Krol (Orlando Pirates)

2011/12 – Augusto Palacios (Orlando Pirates)

2012/13 – Stuart Baxter (Kaizer Chiefs)

2013/14 – Pitso Mosimane (Mamelodi Sundowns)

2014/15 – Stuart Baxter (Kaizer Chiefs)

2015/16 – Pitso Mosimane (Mamelodi Sundowns)

2016/17 – Gavin Hunt (Bidvest Wits)

2017/18 – Pitso Mosimane (Mamelodi Sundowns)