Pitso questions referee after benefiting

Premiership

Mamelodi Sundowns coach Pitso Mosimane has questioned referee Jelly Chavani's decision to award a red card to Chippa United defender Sandile Mthethwa.

Sundowns beat United 3-0 at Loftus Stadium on Saturday but the game was marred by a controversial decision by the referee to award both a penalty and a red card after Mthethwa fouled Sibusiso Vilakazi inside the 18-yard area in the 58th minute.

READ: Pitso: We were cheating

Midfielder Thamba Zwane scored from the spot-kick to make it 2-0 and top of that Chavani made a big mountain for the Chilli Boys to bounce back into the game after showing a red card to the defender.

Mosimane believes Mthethwa did not deserve to be punished twice after conceding the penalty.

"I mean they got a red card, which in my opinion I don’t think it should have been a red card. Unless the player said something to the referee, indecent, then it should be a red card," said Mosimane.

VIEW: A closer look at Downs' win in pics

"But if it is a red card because of the penalty, I am happy to be wrong. I will hear what the experts are saying, but I think if a player gets a red card for fouling inside the box, you punish him with a penalty, you can’t punish him twice.

"So he got a red card but we are all far away. Maybe he said something, you never know. It was an important penalty for us to make the scoreline 2-0."

After the red card Sundowns went on to score their third goal and seal the three points to put them in touching distance of league leaders Kaizer Chiefs again.

"The red card also helped us to make it really easy for us, but we should have scored more to be honest," added Mosimane.

NOW READ: Pitso: Apartheid still divides our blacks

comments