10 most decorated stars in PSL history


Six former Kaizer Chiefs stars feature on the list of 10 most decorated players to have played in the PSL era, while only three players on the list remain active today.

Chiefs dominance in the early 2000s, during and after the ‘Operation Vat Alles’ campaign, sees several former players feature in this elite club.

Check out the gallery above to find all the Chiefs representatives and where they rank amongst the most decorated players in the PSL era

Though winning just two league titles during the decade between 2001 and 2010, the club collected a further 11 cups that included six league cups (now known as Telkom Knockout), three top-eight cups (now MTN8), one national cup (now Nedbank Cup) and one African Cup Winners' Cup.

Players who shared in the success with Amakhosi during those years include, amongst others, Thabo Mooki, Gerald Sibeko, Arthur Zwane, Brian Baloyi, David Kannemeyer and Kaizer Motaung Junior.

READ: 10 years on, SA remembers Scara Ngobese

The above-mentioned stars have those years to thank for their presence on today’s list of most decorated players in the PSL era, dating back to the 1996/97 campaign.

With Mamelodi Sundowns enjoying a similar dominance in recent years, it is no surprise that four of their current players also feature on the list – most of whom in fact started their success with SuperSport United during their three-year league dominance from 2007.

READ: The best foreign PSL coaches of all time

Six other players were just shy of making this list and have all celebrated a total of 10 trophies with various clubs, while only one of these remain active and eligible to move up the list.

Players with 10 club trophies: Tinashe Nengomasha, Cyril Nzama, Josta Dladla, Oupa Manyisa, Katlego Mashego and Patrick Mabedi.

Check out the full list of most decorated stars in the PSL in the gallery above


*Daine Klate's 2004 SAA Supa 8 (MTN8) triumph with SuperSport United was not considered as he only made his PSL debut later that year.

*Kaizer Motaung Jr made his Chiefs debut after the club won the 2003 Coca Cola Cup, which was therefore not tallied to his name.

**Itumeleng Khune (8 trophies) was promoted to Chiefs' first team in 2004 but did not make his first appearance until 2007, and the four cups that the club won during this time were therefore not tallied to his name.

**Benson Mhlongo enjoyed success at Mamelodi Sundowns, Orlando Pirates and Platinum Stars – all whom lifted a total of 12 trophies with him on their books. However, the midfielder missed Pirates' entire 2010/11 season in which they won a treble, as well as the MTN8 and TKO cups won in the 2011/12 season, due to a long-term knee injury.

**Anthony Laffor was still on the books of Mamelodi Sundowns in 2019/20, when they won the league and Nedbank Cup, but only the league has been tallied to his name for having made one sub appearance while he failed to make the squad in any of the cup matches.

NOW READ: The top 5 referees of the PSL era