My Dream Team: Daine Klate


Daine Klate is the most decorated player in the history of the PSL, and his Dream Team reflects that journey more than any particular favourite team.

Klate became something of a lucky charm and won trophies at all three major clubs he played for, earning legendary status for being a true team player on top of his trophy-winning exploits.

When he started in 2004 at SuperSport United he won the SAA Supa 8 and the following year the Absa Cup, which was followed by three Absa Premiership titles in a row from 2007 until 2010 under Gavin Hunt.

VIEW: My Dream Team: Willem Jackson

He then left for Orlando Pirates where he helped the Buccaneers win two league titles, the MTN8, the Nedbank Cup twice, as well as the Telkom Knockout during the famous 'Double Treble' period.

His next destination was Bidvest Wits where he reunited with Hunt and won the MTN8 in 2016 as well as the league title in 2016/17.

In all, Klate won six league titles, three MTN8 trophies, two Telkom Knockout cups and three Nedbank Cups for a total of 14 pieces of silverware.

VIEW: My Dream Team: David Kannemeyer

VIEW: My Dream Team: Siyabonga Nomvethe

VIEW: My Dream Team: Lerato Chabangu

At 35 and with his body still fit, Klate should be still playing in the PSL but says he quit after losing the desire to play the game.

He is currently doing his UEFA A coaching licence following a coaching stint with Chippa United.

"I could have played on but I just didn't have that feeling anymore," Klate tells

Was missing out on the Bafana Bafana 2010 World Cup squad the biggest disappointment of his unrivalled career?

"2010 I was the player of the season in the PSL and didn't make Bafana, so there was nothing else I could do about it."

Enough said.

Scroll through the gallery above to see Klate's Dream Team made up of only hard-working players, and only two from Orlando Pirates despite their treble-winning exploits.

VIEW My Dream Team: Joseph Kamwendo

VIEW: My Dream Team: Shaun Bartlett

VIEW: My Dream Team: Edward Motale