Polokwane end City's MTN8 title defence


Polokwane City progressed to the MTN8 semi-finals with a 2-0 victory over the holders Cape Town City on Saturday afternoon.

Tashreeq Morris made his debut for City while Abbubaker Mobara, Thato Mokeke and Gift Links returned to the line-up, as Lesiba Nku made his first appearance for Polokwane in Jabulani Maluleke’s absence.

Following a bright opening, the home side succumbed through a 25th minute curler from Mohammed Anas from poor defending.

As the half wore on, the Citizens pinned the visitors in their own half to go into the break level but the breakthrough didn’t manifest. Mobara teed-up Zukile Kewuti for an attempt on goal after 38 minutes, which George Chigova redirected for a corner kick.

Following the break, both sides were unchanged as Chigova stuffed out any potential danger from the wide.

Polokwane earned a penalty after a one-two between Anas and Nku forced Mobara to trip the latter 60 minutes in. Peter Leeuwenburgh’s outstretched hand prevented Sibusiso Mbonani from doubling their tally much to Zlatko Krmpotic’s frustrations.

After the introduction of Kermit Erasmus, Surprise Ralani replaced Morris in attack for the home side after 65 minutes as hopes for a come back rages on.

Anas was stretched off with an oxygen mask after 78 minutes, as Zimbabwean Charlton Mashumba filled his spot. Mashumba heeded the call with a neat finish seven minutes from time following Mvelase’s cross.

Polokwane came close to a third after 88 minutes, but a smart save from Leeuwenburgh denied Nku with Edmilson Dove blocking the follow-up as the encounter ended 2-0.


City: Leeuwenburgh, Morris, Mobara, Cupido, Edmilson, Mokeke, Seedat, David, Kewuti, Martin, Links.

Subs: Stephens, Mkhize, Makola, Erasmus,  Ralani, Norodien, Mthembu.

Polokwane: Chigova, Mvelase, Hlongwane, Mbonani, Motloung, Manaka, Mngomezulu, Chauke, Anas, Maluleke, Nku.

Subs: Phali, Nthatheni, Mashumba, Tlolane, Nene, Wagaba,  Hlubi..