9 players with the most PSL league titles


After Mamelodi Sundowns claimed 'La Decima', KickOff.com looks at the stars who have collected the most league winner's medals in the PSL era.

Sundowns claimed their fifth Absa Premiership title in dramatic fashion last weekend when they pipped Kaizer Chiefs to the crown in the final 30 minutes of the season.

NEWS: Hunt responds to Chiefs coach talk

This was a record 10th league championship for The Brazilians since the start of the PSL era back in 1996, as they now lead both Chiefs and Orlando Pirates by six in the overall club rankings.

For the likes of Hlompho Kekana, Denis Onyango and Anthony Laffor, this latest triumph saw them bag a record seventh title as far as individual rankings go.

Check out the gallery above for the top 9 players with the most league titles in the PSL era 

The record was previously held by Daine Klate, who collected six crowns before retiring in June 2019, while Kekana, Onyango and Laffor all equalled that record in May last year.

The quartet all started their success at SuperSport United when the club retained the Absa Premiership trophy for three years running, though some joined at different stages of that run.

READ: Update issued on 6 Downs injuries

Tebogo Langerman, meanwhile, has also moved up the rankings and is joint-second with Klate after bagging his sixth title this season, while the likes of David Kannemeyer, Wayne Arendse, Kennedy Mweene and Tiyani Mabunda also make the list.

Honourable mention to players that have also bagged four league titles in the PSL era – the likes of Themba Zwane, Elias Pelembe, Katlego Mashego, Siboniso Gaxa, Bongani Khumalo, Oupa Manyisa and Andre Arendse.

READ: Pitso opens up on Ngcongca's future