Bayhill Day 1 wrap

The annual tournament, which has become a key date on the domestic football calendar since its inception in 1988, is hosted by Bayhill United and features the best club qualifiers from around Cape Town, as well as PSL U-19 sides from all over the country, with an added taste of international flavour in the form of guest teams from Zambia and the United Kingdom.

The opening day’s play saw only local teams competing and produced some sparkling football to set the standard for the rest to live up to. In Group A, Vasco da Gama and PPG Langa played to a 1-1 draw, as did Jumbo Giants and JL Zwane in Group B. Battswood beat University of Stellenbosch to open their account in Group C. Milano United drew 0-0 against Southampton in Group D, while in Group E, Glendene United got off to a flying start, defeating Invincible Cravenby 6-0. In Group F, Greenwood Athletic and Blue Downs Spurs played to a goalless draw. In the day’s final encounter, Old Mutual Academy trounced six-time champions Hellenic 3-0.

“The tournament has got under way with some great opening matches and the signs are promising that Metropolitan’s commitment to creating opportunities for South Africa’s youth through football will once again facilitate the emergence of a new generation of future legends,” said Vuyo Lee, MMI executive for brand and corporate affairs on behalf of Metropolitan.

Tournament director, P.J. Williams added: “We are delighted to partner once again with Metropolitan to stage this event for the 27th occasion. We welcome a number of newcomers to the tournament joining some of the familiar participants and we are confident that the fans will enjoy an Easter weekend of great entertainment.”

Play gets under way at 12h30 on Thursday with six rounds of matches throughout the day, culminating with the final fixture kicking off at 18h45.

Thursday's fixtures:

Chippa United vs Jumbo Jets
Bidvest Wits vs Southampton
Fairview Rovers vs Milano United
Polokwane United vs Morgenster United
Swansea City `vs Battswood
PPG Langa vs Ajax Cape Town
Berea Albion vs Vasco da Gama
Bay Hill United vs JL Zwane
AmaZulu vs Riverside United
Zesco United vs Hellenic
Blue Downs Spurs vs University of Pretoria
Celtic United vs Greenwood Athletic
University of Stellenbosh vs Harmony Academy
Arcadia Shepherds vs Invincible Cravenby
SuperSport United vs Glendene United
Mamelodi Sundowns vs Old Mutual Academy