SHOCKING: Only two coaches have lasted the distance at Chiefs in 26 years


Kaizer Chiefs' sacking of Stuart Baxter has seen the Briton join a growing list of coaches that have failed to last the entirety of their initial contract.

Throughout the PSL history stretching back to August 1996 only two coaches – Paul Dolezar and Ted Dumitru – can stand with pride of having been the only coaches to have been in charge from the beginning of a season until the end through all the time they spent at Chiefs.

Dolezar last the full course from July 1997 to June 1999 while Dumitru also went all the way from June 2003 to May 2005.

Baxter has been shown the door with seven games to play becoming coach number eight to start a new season in charge but then be fired during a campaign be it his first, second or third in charge inside the PSL era years.

The veteran gaffer leaves Chiefs in fourth position with his second spell having failed to end AmaKhosi’s trophy drought.

Chiefs have now gone seven years without silverware with Baxter having been the last to deliver a trophy during his first spell at the club.

The first coach appointed at the beginning of a new season to not last the distance was Jeff Butler who lasted until September 1996.

Muhsin Ertugral was brought in at the start of the 1999/2000 but work permit issues delayed his start and in November 2002 he was gone after a slow start in the league.

German gaffer Ernst Middendorp was sacked in March 2007 towards the end of his second season in charge.

Next up to not last all the way was Vladimir Vermezovic whose contract was terminated in April 2012 as he neared three years in charge.

Former Bafana Bafana captain Steve Komphela took charge in June 2015 but also found himself forced out by fans towards the end of his third season in charge.

Italian gaffer Giovanni Solinas was tasked at the start of the 2018/19 season but only lasted until December.

Then Gavin Hunt came on at the beginning of last season but was gone before the end of his first season.

This season Stuart Baxter has suffered a similar fate to Hunt after being sacked towards the end of the season. 

Walter da Silva, Wellington Manyathi, Jacob Sephoa, Doctor Khumalo and Ace Khuse (twice), Kosta Papic, Patrick Mabedi along with Arthur Zwane and Dillon Sheppard have also taken charge along the way at Chiefs in the PSL era years.

Cast your vote for the 2021/22 KICK OFF Footballer of the Season below!

Sundowns, SuperSport agree blockbuster swap deal

Coach set to follow Baxter out Kaizer Chiefs exit door

Simba man to provide star attraction for big PSL clubs