Ruthless Chiefs end winless run


Kaizer Chiefs returned to the winning ways in the DStv Premiership after recording a 4-0 victory over Chippa United on Saturday evening.

Veteran Bernard Parker equalled Tinashe Nengomasha’s 264th league appearances for Chiefs in the PSL era and also skippered the side against the Chilli Boys.

Chiefs could’ve been punished minutes from the start after misplaced possession put Thokozani Sekotlong clear on goal though he couldn’t capitalise as a low wayward shot followed suit.

The Amakhosi secured the lead on 12 minutes after Khama Billiat picked up a loose ball down the left-side to feed Keagan Dolly for a first-time finish from a tight angle in the area.

Dolly got a brace on the stroke of halftime when he ran onto through ball down the middle to curl into the bottom-corner from a tight angle, amidst calls for an offside.

Chippa looked to pull one back through Siphesihle Mkhize’s low shot from outside the box shortly before the break, but it was parried by goalkeeper Daniel Akpeyi.

Chilli Boys responded with three changes ahead of the second half saw Sandile Mthethwa, Mogakolodi Ngele and Maloisane Mokhele introduced.

The Glamour Boys should’ve picked up a third earlier on after a three-on-three move involving Dolly ended with Phathutshedzo Nange, whose low rasping shot proved no issues.

Chippa were presented a way back moments from resumption through Sekotlong on the far side of the area, but had Akpeyi equal to the task.

The Amakhosi upped the tally midway in the second half when Billiat made a blind run in the area before going to finish off Dolly’s ball into space.

Chiefs put the icing on the cake a minute into added time after substitute Lazarous Kambole controlled a low ball into the area to fire past Rashid Watenga, as the clash concluded.

Confirmed line-ups:

Chiefs: Akpeyi, Njabulo Ngcobo, Mathoho, Dube, Frosler, Blom, Nkosingiphile Ngcobo, Nange, Parker, Dolly, Billiat.

Subs: Petersen, Cardoso, Mphahlele, Baccus, Agay, Kambole, Mabiliso, Mashiane, Rabede.

Chippa: Watenga, Zulu, Hanamub, Jodwana, Haukongo, Lentjies, Pietersen, Sekotlong, Sangare, Mkhize, Lebitso.

Subs: Dickens, Ngele, Seabi, Maloisane, Mdinyelwa, Mtshali, Mthethwa, Mokhele, Eva Nga.

SuperSport move within a point of Downs

Sekhukhune clinch back-to-back wins