TTM climb out of relegation zone


Tshakhuma Tsha Madzivhandila moved out of the relegation zone in the DStv Premiership after defeating TS Galaxy 2-0 on Saturday evening.

Goalkeeper Wensten Van der Linde, MacBeth Mahlangu and Wayde Lekay picked Galaxy’s changes, whereas Tokelo Rantie made his first league start for the visiting side.

The Rockets looked to hit the ground running as early as the second minute through Mxolisi Macuphu, but his header from inside the area flew over the top.

Vhadau vhadamani were still on the back-foot just inside the midway stage, with a glancing header from Macuphu off a curling free-kick by Mahlangu skinning the top of goal.

However as Galaxy enjoyed lots of advantage earlier on, Tshakhuma broke the deadlock against the run of play after Brandon Theron linked up with Rantie five minutes to halftime to slot home via deflection.

Owen Da Gama’s side emerged for the second half guns blazing that goalkeeper Washington Arubi needed to steer a near post shot from Macuphu for a corner-kick.

Frustrations regarding a breakthrough for the Rockets continued after Lekay leaped high in the centre of the area to head the resultant corner against the top of the woodwork.

Tshakhuma looked to add more goals in the final eight minutes and changed matters from the bench as Thabo Rakhale replaced forward Rantie.

It paid instant dividends after Rakhale started a move from outside the area before going into the six-yard area to finish off the very move he started.

Galaxy were given a glimmer of hope in added time after a foul in the area led to a penalty, but Lekay couldn’t beat Arubi shortly after he had a goal disallowed for offside, as it finished 2-0.

Confirmed line-ups:

Galaxy: Van Der Linde, Fransman, M. Mahlangu, Sanoka, Mbunjana, Aubaas, Phohlongo, Munyai, Mbatha, Lekay, Macuphu.

Subs: Heugh, Seedat, Mokoena, Ndlovu, S. Mahlangu, Msimango, Sefako, Badenhorst.

TTM: Arubi, Lukhubeni, Ndengane, Madhanaga, Nonyane Copyright sign, Theron, Manaka, Ngema, Rantie, Thopola, Mnyamane.

Subs: Mamudzidi, Molongoane, Ndlondlo, Mabotja, Rakhale, Thangwane, Mphambaniso, Timm, Masegela.

TS Galaxy star forced to the sidelines

Benni opens up on Section plans

Citizens back on the winning trail