Chippa hand ODG losing start at Galaxy


Chippa United returned to winning ways in the DStv Premiership following a 1-0 triumph over TS Galaxy on Saturday afternoon.

Chippa named new signing Anthony Laffor on the bench, but started Bienvenu Eva Nga up top, while Galaxy preferred Wayde Lekay and Mxolisi Macuphu from the 3-0 loss to SuperSport United.

Chippa made an ideal start five minutes from kickoff when a ball into the area from Andile Mbenyane met a towering Federic Nsabiyumva to complete the move with a thumping header.

Mbenyane gunned for his own goal following the 15th minute from good play through the middle of the park but after receiving possession, blazed beyond target.

Galaxy started coming alive inside 25 minutes when a header from a corner-kick found Bevan Fransman, but the veteran defender headed beyond Winsten Van Der Linde.

Lekay nearly had the host level from a ball by Luckyboy Mokena five minutes later, but nodded wide before producing a wayward finish from a move by Macuphu.

Chippa should’ve gone to halftime two goals up through smart build-up play on 43 minutes, however Peter Maloisane wasn’t able to cap off a move between him and Nga.

Nsabiyumva looked to bag a second from another header off a free-kick early in the second half, but was flagged for a foul.

The Chilli Boys decided to bring on their latest high-profile acquisition Laffor ten minutes from the restart with Nga sacrificed.

Galaxy struggled to find openings before the midway point in the second half, with Chippa enjoying large possession and territorial advantage too.

The Rockets battled on towards full-time and nearly had their just rewards through Felix Badenhorst and Sphiwe Mahlangu, but neither capitalised as Chippa secured victory.

Confirmed line-ups:

Galaxy: Galaxy: Van Der Linde, Modisane, Fransman, Mahlangu, Mokoena, Mbunjana, Aubaas, Nyama and Mbatha, Lekay, Macuphu.

Subs: Heugh, Yeye, Myer, Nduli, Mahola, Bodibe, Mahlangu, Felix, Matlala.

Chippa: Mtshali, Nsabiyumva, Mobbie, Hanamub, Nhlapo,  Mdlinzo, Rae, Mokhele, Mbenyane, Maloisane, Eva Nga.

Subs: Mazibuko, Mogakwe,  Mthethwa, Dinge, Khooa, Damons, Lentjies, Kwem, Laffor.