Galaxy secure maiden DStv Prem win


TS Galaxy got their first win of the season in the DStv Premiership after netting a late winner against Baroka FC on Tuesday evening.

The Rockets were boosted by the return of Bafana Bafana midfielder Ethan Brooks while Bakgaga shuffled their previous line-up, with the likes of shot-stopper Elvis Chipezeze, Athenkosi Dlala and Manuel Kambala returning.

The sides were going at each other in the opening period and Evidence Makgopa gave Baroka the lead in the 17th minute with a header inside the box after a cross by Moshweu Mphahele.

Tshepo Mokhabi had a chance to double the lead for Matsimela Thoka's charges in the 33rd minute with a free-kick from just outside the box that was saved by goalkeeper Vasilije Kolak.

The visitors could not hold onto their lead, as they conceded a penalty just before the half-time break after Tshegofatso Nyama was fouled inside the box and Sinethemba Mngomezulu converted the spot-kick, as the sides went to the half-time break level pegging.

Scroll through the gallery to see the 10 most valuable U21s in the DStv Premiership

Sead Ramovic's men came back from the half-time break guns blazing, as Nyama was denied by Chipezeze from close range and the Zimbabwean was made to work again on the hour-mark, as he kept out a threatening long range strike from Brooks.

Galaxy made a double change in the last 20 minutes, as Masilakhe Phohlongo replaced Mngomezulu in an attacking move while Mlungisi Mbunjana came on for Sihle Nduli for fresh legs in midfield.

The match was stretching from end to end in the closing stages and Menzi Ndwandwe finally snatched the winner for the Rockets in stoppage time and Wayde Lekay was red-carded for Galaxy towards the end, as Ramovic's troops held on to their first win.

Confirmed line-ups:

Galaxy: Kolak, Makitan, Seedat, Munyai, Nduli, Aubaas, Brooks, Nyatama, Mbatha, Macuphu, Mngomezulu.

Subs: Van der Linde, Mbunjana, Mahlangu,  Lekay, Bodibe, Phohlongo, Filipetto,  Ndwandwe.

Baroka: Chipezeze, Mphahlele, Shozi, Sibiya, Farmer, Dlala, Kambala, Mokhabi, Sithole, Goldstone, Makopga.

Subs: Chibwe, Seema, Makume, Mbulu, Malivha, Chauke, Nikitaridis, Monama, Bobethe.